School is a SCAM!

in #school5 years ago

SCHOOL NA SCAM! (For my 9ja pipu dem)

Have you heard people saying this lately?

And you believed it?

Did you ask why they said so?

Did you agree with their reason?

N.B. This is a very lengthy post deliberately written to help you (an already frustrated graduate, student or would-be) get a shift in your perspective but while you're still deciding to either continue reading or not, let me tell you a story...

I graduated from the university 4 years ago with so much hopes of getting a good job as soon as I was done answering the clarion call, which I did in Ughelli, Delta State.

While in school, I was very studious. I mean, I took my academics very seriously that I could literally sit in one position reading, studying, practising and sometimes memorising/cramming definitions & formulas (which I found very uninteresting and tiring) for 5 hours, sometimes 8 (during weekends) just so I could understand every detail and give exceptional answers to questions during exams and tests. It was unimaginably hectic!

Note: Please don't do it except you have the calling! LOL!

This, I did with every sense of commitment and deliberate concentration because I believed my future (job) depended on my academic excellence!

My results/CGPA throughout my four years at the university would agree raptly!

I was told that I would be hired by top corporations if I made the best results. I held unto that belief and kept going.

Today, I don't want to say they lied because I'm aware the system had changed to a great extent; the deserving are been replaced by the well-connected. It's really bad!
And though I didn't graduate the best in my class, at least I tried!

I have waited for a few years for a good job and written many aptitude tests.

Then I got invited for this one interview. During the session, while my "strong" 2:1 didn't mean a thing to the interviewers I want you to know it was the same that got me qualified to apply for the job in the first place.

Then my great skill of being attentive to details and producing excellent results caught every panel's attention!

They were all wowed by my presentation and at the end of the session, I had this profound feeling that I nailed it!

So I went back home rejoicing...

Now guess what?

I'm still NOT employed! And probably never would!😂😂😂
Sounds brutal right? Not what you expected to see! Hahaha
I know!

I have learnt through this years of wait to shift my focus from blaming the school, government, or even those who promised me a job (I appreciate every efforts they have put in place) to being deliberate about building myself to become a solution provider.

While it is true that we all don't get successful from a degree earned from school, I believe school is part of that process that prepares us for Success!

My passion for education is now an endless vacuum, my skill for attention to details is still intact, my drive for excellence is almost infinite. I have grown to see that, school isn't the problem, my mindset was!

Today, I've shifted my focus from the the regrets of how much school didn't give me to thinking on how much I could do with the "little" school had given!

Today, I am the co-founder of GICET Integrated Ltd (I'll tell you more about it soon) or check www.gicetintegrated.com, a writer & published author (Amazon Kindle), Business Developer/Software Consultant, creative thinker and passionate teacher!

All these were aspirations built over time in pursuit of academic excellence in school and I'm still building...

So when next someone tells you school is scam, first check to confirm this important matter:

Who is the person's father and What kind of connection(s) he/she already have...

And if you don't have same kind of connection, my brother, RUN FOR YOUR FUTURE!

The picture below speaks more volume of what I mean!
FB_IMG_15614198182166668.jpg
Source: Facebook

School nor be scam my brother, make nobody deceive you!

Even me for nor fit write all this plenty grammar without education from school!

My friend, while in school, do your best to LEARN ALL you need to learn, make and build solid relationships with people (especially your course mates!) And watch how things would turn around thereafter.

Your friend,
Seth A. Thomas
IG: @youtoocanexcel

Sort:  

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65