My life in college - Days 5 - Auditioning for a prestigious choir, and being hip

in #school3 years ago

Hello everyone! I am now getting some time to sit down and write about the last few days. So I am working on it. Things have kind of picked up, but I have had time to write and have instead used it programming my voting bot. I hope to finish that sometime before Christmas xD. Anyway, let's discuss last Friday and Saturday:

20210910_100410.jpg

Day 5

Auditioning for a prestigious choir, and being hip

Waking Up

Shockingly, the day began with waking up. I woke up around 7am and went for breakfast. On my way to breakfast, I ran into a friend, and so we went to breakfast together. During breakfast, he and I discussed working out and ways I can improve on what I'm doing. He and I may workout together, but so far every time I've asked he's been busy.

Form and Analysis

After breakfast, I went back to my dorm and wrote Thursday's article. After that, I went to the building my 10:20am class is in, and sat in a practice room practicing. I then went to my class. We talked about some more sonata movements by Mozart. We are slowly going through the building blocks of form beginning with phrases and sentences. By the end of the semester, we will be analyzing full movements, but for now we are working with the basic units of music (though in increasing complexity). Here are some of the movements we discussed:

Getting lunch

After that, I went for lunch. I had a grilled chicken sandwich. During lunch I ate with someone and talked to them, but I can't remember who it was or what we talked about. All I know is I was very knowledgeable on the subject (as I am on all subjects).

Lying on the Hammock

After lunch, I noticed a hammock was available. So I jumped on the opportunity (quite literally), and took some time to just lie down listening to nature on the hammock. I think I made a group of girls laugh by accident because I tried to change my position in the hammock, and accidentally flipped it over and fell on the ground. I'm not gonna lie, I would have laughed too if I were watching lol. I still got back on and lay there for probably around an hour. I'm really glad I got to lie on the hammock, and hope it's open again. Perhaps it will be more available during the winter xD. Last Spring very few people were living on campus so whenever I visited, the hammocks were available. I will forever miss those days. . . Anyway, I sat on the hammock for around an hour, and then went back to my dorm.

Programming

When I got back to my dorm, I worked on programming. I watched some videos about deep learning, and added some new functions to my file for organizing data from articles. I'm writing the functions to retrieve the data I'm gonna give the AI now. I do not know how I'm going to format it, but I am definitely going to need it in a different way than it's formatted now. That's the best feeling: I don't know what the right way to do this is. I just know I'm definitely doing it wrong.

Auditioning for one of the school's most prestigious choirs

It's funny, but after my choral hearing, I was called back to audition for the school's most prestigious choir, but I didn't realize how significant that was until I talked to some of my classmates about it. All of my roommates also got called back (like for the two reasons that 1. we can read music and 2. they need guys).

I had to change my outfit for the audition; I went from casual Friday to business casual Friday. When I got to the audition, I could hear the tenors auditioning. So I went outside and waited. My roommate came and sat down with me, and I pointed out that sweat pants aren't business casual. He hadn't read the email where they said to wear business casual clothes. So he had to sprint back to the dorm and change.

The audition was a scary process. The director walked in, and I accidentally made her like me. She asked if we were the altos here to audition, and I said "we can be if you want us to be." She said: "I like you. You're in!" Obviously she was joking. We had to sight read the bass part for a piece, and at first the accompanist played all four parts. Then the director, out of pity, told the accompanist to double the bass part. She had us stand in a self-sorted semi-circle from warmest voice to brightest voice. She listened to three of us sing at a time, and slowly completely reordered the circle. She made us sing many different things, and I think wanted to see how we performed, and how we reacted. She was very funny, but also very scary. She made us sing a natural minor scale, and I kept screwing up by rolling the r in re. I don't know if she realized it was me, but she asked the group to fix it twice. Eventually, we had to sing the minor scale as a round 1 entering at a time. The person standing next to me kept singing a major scale, and I think didn't make it in because of that.

Anyway, after the audition was over, I walked back to my dorm with my roommate.

Dinner

It was then time for dinner. I had dinner with my roommate, and our friend. I brought my chess board, and my friend and I played chess. I won. For dinner, I had chicken.

20210910_185046.jpg

Rock fest

After dinner, we went to the rock fest that the school was hosting. My friends made me look "hip" by untucking and unbuttoning my shirt. I liked the band they had until the one guy started doing like satanic death chanting so I chose then to use the bathroom. But for Sweet Caroline and Mr. Brightside, I was all in. My friends made fun of my dancing which made me feel self-conscious because I don't usually dance out of fear that people will make fun of me, but I didn't let it bother me, and continued to dance. They had an obstacle course so I raced my friend in it, but sadly lost. I'm going to partially blame it on the fact that I had had a rough leg day the day before.

Around 8:30pm, they started playing extremely loud rap, and my ears were so bothered by how loud it was that I ran back to my dorm to practice.

Practicing

I sat there practicing my piano music, and around 9pm noticed a text message. It was from the bass section leader for the prestigious choir. I had been selected for the choir, and he was letting me know. I was super excited. Especially when my dad texted me that the website says we might be touring in January. The last tour they went on was to China, and they've also been to other countries such as Spain. I really hope that we tour. That would be a great experience, and something fun to write about on Steem.

I texted all of my friends who'd auditioned to see if they'd heard about the choir, and all of them hadn't. It seems the bass section leader was much more on top of it than the other section leaders. Most of my friends who made it didn't hear until the next day. Though all four of us had auditioned, only one of my roommates also made it in. I really am thankful for this opportunity, and can't wait to see what the choir does this year!

Going to bed

After that, I went upstairs to go to sleep. But my roommate had a guest, so I stayed up for a while reading the bible. When my roommate's guest left, I went to sleep.

Conclusion

Thank you for reading this! I've used a lot of my free time writing this article, and still have two more to write. We shall see when I will write about Monday and Tuesday, but I am determined to log the beginning of this college experience. So I will definitely post them some time soon. See you then!

Sort:  

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

I am surprised to see you that how can a man be perfect in so much sectors? You are just brilliant.

You manage your time perfectly, i like that in you very much.

Excellent day, you have varied activities, that is very good to remain balanced.

Youn have recorded and shared nice music, the audition was over, but you didn't tell us about the result, is she liked your song or not?

It's good to be busy during the day, to be productive, that keeps your mind healthy.

Thank you for sharing such a great day, we hope you share the other stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75