Hello, brother.

in #scarystory6 years ago (edited)

Sorrowfully sitted in the ceremony room all dressed in black. Silence filled the air with the occasional scream breaking through. Words unspoken yet heard so loud. It was a private ceremony with few people in attendance.

Sitted at the edge, I felt the need to blame myself. I was numb and I just needed to feel. I didn't know how but I felt better by blaming myself. Yes, I would be the best to take the blame.

I was back in time to when it all started.


Carl and I were born twins. Our mother never fails to tell us the story of how we'd usually kick in her womb while she carried us. She'd also remind us of how we didn't arrive until the eleventh month and how she had to labour for 5 days before we were born. We were loved so much. Our father also played his part. We were one happy family.

image
Source

Carl and I were identical twins and we were twins in all sense of the word. It was hard for people to tell us apart, except of course, our parents. I don't know how they did it but they could differentiate between Carl and I even in the dark.

Carl had always liked the brighter shades; sky blue, red and white were his trademark colours, I on the other side was the dark twin. I liked dark colours and had a dark sense of humor. I played pranks on anyone and everyone just to make me happy.

One of my many pranks was playing dead one day in the park. It was a Sunday and our parents had taken us to the park as usual, we'd spend three hours there and talk at length, though what was so important to talk about with two 6 years old kids, I still can't fathom, but it was always a good time out.

This particular day, while swinging, I jumped out and fell face down. My brother was the one nearby and he ran to me asking if I was okay, I started rolling my eyes inward and he was so scared, he shouted and my parents came running. Sensing my parents arrival, I started moanly loudly and suddenly stopped. How I held my breathe for so long, I still can't explain till date. For almost 3 minutes, I played dead, my parents were frantic, screaming for help, my brother was wailing miserably beside me, promising me all the toys and to do all my assignments if only I'd wake up. I wanted more, so I held my breathe even longer till I heard my mom say "wake up baby, no more veggies for you" and my dad say "come on dude, you can play all the games you want". Yes! Yes! Yes! I screamed, opened my eyes and jumped up. " Thank you for all the promises, I love you all."

My parents were so furious with me for pranking them and I was grounded for a week, but, like the prankster I was, I didn't learn my lesson. It was my lifestyle that lead to the death of my brother and I just can't forgive myself.

We were 17 years old and decided to catch some fun at the river close to the house on that fateful day. I suddenly had the urge to play one of my pranks. I jumped into the river, enjoying the coolness of water on my skin, forgetting the reason I jumped into the river in the first place. "Victor, where are you?" Carl called and I remembered my plans. "Help, help, I'm drowning" I shouted. Carl wasn't a good swimmer but he couldn't let me drown, so, he jumped!


"Hello, brother " Carl said to me as I walked home from his funeral. "It's been some days."


This is an entry for @julietisrael's #scarystory contest

You should participate.

Word count: 653 words


I am @bookoons, reminding you today to Make A Difference.

Sort:  
Thanks your amazing entry on our #jet-contest
You just got jet-voted. ✌

unnamed (2).gif

Congratulations!,@bookoons Your post has been upvoted by @reach.curation

Ads: Get $30 dollars worth of withdrawal POWtokens (on an exchange) via this link below

https://bitzza.com/referral/POW-ns8x4-AK1772 (less than 10 secs registration)

Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit.

Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn


I wish you luck.

Nice story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58615.18
ETH 2559.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52