The Clown in the Corner

in #scare6 years ago

House-sitting for my aunt and uncle is a piece of cake. After I water the plants, feed the cat, and take the garbage out, all that’s left to do is watch TV in the basement. I take a bowl of popcorn downstairs, flick on the big screen, and put my feet up to watch a movie.

It seems their taste in décor has changed since the last time I visited; in the corner of the room stands a life-size clown statue. I’ve been afraid of clowns since I was a little kid, and this one is particularly unsettling. It’s so real-looking: tall, with curly purple hair, a white painted face, slick red lips, and an oversized bow tie.

Image 1.png

I try to concentrate on the movie, but I can’t shake the feeling that the clown statue is watching me.

I pick up my phone, turn my back on the unsettling clown, and call my uncle. He picks up right away; it sounds like he’s at a party.

“Hey Chris! How’s everything going at the house?” he shouts.

“Hi! Um, sorry to bother you, Uncle Henry, but I was wondering . . . could I move the clown statue in the basement into the cupboard? It’s erm, nice and all, but it’s kinda creeping me out.”

My uncle is silent for a moment, and I can hear him move to a quieter room.

“Chris, buddy, what are you talking about?” he says, his voice serious. “What clown statue?”

“The big, life-size one in the basement,” I say.

“We don’t have a clown statue,” Uncle Henry says, and my blood runs cold. “Get out of the house, now!”

Image 2.png

My heart pounding, I look back at the clown statue, but it’s no longer in the corner.

That’s when a yellow-gloved hand taps my shoulder.

“Wanna play?”

Sort:  

Good story!

Thank you so much for your replay on this...thanks

Hahahah......very creepy! A nice story for kids

I am going feature this post in the next Xposed Curator's Rebound #44. You may find details about it Xposed Curator's Rebound

My hope is to bring your quality work here the exposure it deserves, and with it, hopefully some additional rewards.

Best wishes, @mirrors

EDIT - Meanwhile, it'd be nice if you put an avatar for your account.

Thank you so much for your replay on this...thanks

You are welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93