A Mom's Take on the Recent Hollywood (and elsewhere) Scandals

in #scandal7 years ago

Background: I'm a single mom, currently living with my folks until I can get my credit cleaned up and build up some savings. My daughter is almost 9 years old. Thankfully, way more sweet and innocent than I was at that age.

The news is on in the morning and evenings around here. Of course it is! There are 3 adults in the house that need to be in the know about worldly events!

Usually, I think it's a good idea for my daughter to also be exposed to important events, both local and global. She was very aware of the political ads leading up to the election last year, which is another thorn in my side I'll cover later.

I find myself trying to distract my daughter, "Ohhhh! Look what the dog is doing! Isn't she CUUUUTE!?" to get her attention from words like "pleasuring himself....sexual assault....took off all his clothes....masturbated in front of her...." that seem to blare through the TV speakers so much louder than everything else.

Even if she's in another room doing her homework, playing, or singing while we watch the news on TV, she comes in to ask a question or just check on everybody. She is so sweet and so precious...I know I can't protect her from the real darkness of this world forever...but can't I guard her heart, mind, and spirit just a little bit longer?

I'm not suggesting censorship or only running such news stories late at night. I just wish we still lived in a world where it was safe to watch/listen to the news as a family.

Sort:  

Congratulation

Today one year ago you joined SteemIt
Thank you, for making SteemIt great and Steem on for more years to come!

(You are being celebrated here)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57