I received a scam email and what YOU should do

in #scams7 years ago


Hey guys, it's @fishjojo1 here again.
Today, I'm talking about

Scammers!


Firstly, why did I chose to talk about scammers? I don't have a blacklist!
Well, recently, I received an email that looked like this.

Please click this to see it.


This is obviously a scam, and PLEASE PLEASE don't fall for it.


Types of scams.

  1. Phishing scam. This is when a person sends you a fake email that gains private info. Eg, passwords. Usually, the scammer will give you a fake link to a fake login and you will then login and give them your password!
  2. Advance fee. Advance fee is a scam where people promise you rewards or benefits if you sent them some money. The email sent to me is a type of advance fee scam.
  3. Goods scam. This is where someone gives you a really good deal. For example, brand new asus tablet for $300! This re dangerous scams.

How do I detect if it's a scam?

There are many ways to detect if it is a scam. Today, I will present to you some of the best methods. If you are still unsure whether anything is a scam, feel free to contact me as [email protected] or at steem.chat my steem.chat username is @jtfish.

  1. Check the email of the sender. In my case, the email was sent by :

Coinbase_no_Reply_84kjsf78923tiqeyeoadjhv78963jsd987e3tghyar78tg79tg34t765290724ygjgb048r0fh204862io4y0rh723i07hi30r7hiy37h3907rhjwrh80w80rk@bistinvest.com

NO service will ever use a fake email like this. You have been warned....

  1. Check the company website.
    When I searched for coinbase investment plans, nothing came out. Thus, I knew that this was fake.

  2. English errors. Unprofessional emails are most likely scams. Look at this picture and you will know what I mean.

This picture also sums it up nicely


Watch this two of my favorite videos.

James Veitch is a dude who counters scam.


Thanks For reading this post! Hope it helps!

alt text

Sort:  

Nice explanation :) Sum it up really well!
And that James Veitch guy made me laugh so much aha he made me want to do the same xD

Me too man, thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85