You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Get Tricked, Bro: How to Recognize a Cult

in #scams8 years ago

One definition of the difference between a relilgion (sorry, can't find a site) is that if your are born and raised in 'it' then it's a relilgion. However, if you forsake the religion your were born and raised in and join something else, then you've joined a cult.

(shrug) mebbe

I prefer the 'meme' comparison. The concept of meme

Meme's bear many similarities to organisms too. They typically develop an immune system of their own. The words 'heresy', 'heretic', 'Blasphemy' are just a few examples.

(shrug again) mebbe mebbe not. That might be true.

Personally I consider the monkeysphere hypothesis to be a more useful consideration.

Sort:  

One definition of the difference between a relilgion (sorry, can't find a site) is that if your are born and raised in 'it' then it's a relilgion. However, if you forsake the religion your were born and raised in and join something else, then you've joined a cult.

I've never seen this definition anywhere. There are people not born into major religions, but who convert to them. Re: memetics, yes, that's basically what I described here. I did so in more detail in this article. I just typically don't use that word as it's more effective to diagram how it works in plain language.

Oh, cool, I missed that one. Thanks for the re-link.

Coincidentally, I just posted a column on memetics for IGMS.
http://www.intergalacticmedicineshow.com/cgi-bin/mag.cgi?do=columns&vol=randall_hayes&article=009