Writing competition: Write about scammers, a scam you saw, or a scam you suffered. First prize 25 steem!

in #scammers7 years ago

In my life there was a very difficult experience for me "marriage scam"
I met online at one of the dating sites with a man with whom we started a very interesting communication, which soon passed into feelings. Even from a distance, I felt an interest in me and received a sea of ​​positive emotions. We exchanged photos and impressions. The man wrote that he worked as an engineer in Shell. He told about his daughter and about his mother, about his friends and much more. Like everything was, as expected, exciting and tempting. Sometimes he called me on the phone and every 20 minutes he sent SMS messages to the phone.
After a while my man)) is sent to work on a business trip to Japan. And the most interesting is that the work will be conducted in the ocean under water. And at this time he invites me to marry him. It seemed to me a very quick decision, but emotions and feelings overwhelmed me. And I ... agreed. Then he wrote that he was sending me a parcel. But some time passed without messages and I receive another letter in which "my" man writes to me that the parcel had to be sent from the airport in Japan. Because there was not time to do it in England, where he flew. And here it began ....
First, "my" man writes to me that some problems with sending. And then every 30 minutes more and some companies send me letters, photos, and sms on the phone, that with the sending of the problem and you need to pay some costs. All this lasts for several days ...
I tell my friend that everything is done now easily with the help of online banks and other transactions. The correspondence has been going on for a long time, but nevertheless he convinces me that I must pay these costs.
And they are not cheap, but they cost neither more nor less, 3000 dollars. I did not have this kind of money and I borrow them from my friend. My mind, emotions and feelings lead the strongest struggle: to believe - not to believe. But ...
feelings won ...
Together with my friend we send this money in the last minutes of the bank's work ...
and here. great gratitude fell from my "man" ...
and here I precisely understand, that I deceived myself ...
all this happened.
This man was a marriage swindler. Where I just did not apply, even to Interpol))), but alas ...
but I give the money so far, working for my comrade for free, as a compensation for the debt.
That's how she loves - online.
I wish everyone to be cautious and very reasonable before falling in love.
But even this case did not allow me to lose faith in people ...
Happiness to all, optimism and joy of life!

Sort:  

Хорошо написано!

Замечательный пост!

Poor you! It is sad that you fell in love with a catfish. Didn’t you find it suspicious that you could never see his face online in a live chat?

Didn’t you find it suspicious that when you put his photos into Tin-eye you found his pictures everywhere on the net?

How did you feel about receiving some ill-gotten gift from Japan that he must have told you is very valuable, and thus definitely his own to give?

What did these messages from Japan actually say to make you send the money?

Didn’t you find it suspicious that they asked you to send the money by the anonymous Western Union service instead of a normal bank-to-bank transfer?

This was a very interesting story. You may be the winner.

Thank you @swissclive very much for the comment and your attention. I did not see your comment at all. you ran into me in locked, like unsafe private content, I do not know the reason, probably, somehow accidentally pressed a button somewhere. Because I'm new, I not still do know. I fixed everything. Excuse me.
Yes, you are right, sometimes I had suspicions, but I myself did not think about Skype communication, it was certainly my fault.
About the search engine Tin-eye, I did not know. I just heard about it from you now.
But at the same time I put his photos just to find in Google, similar photos were not.
But the phone number of this man, it did not occur to me to check on the Internet before sending money.
I did not specifically describe what was written in the reports about what was written, I decided that it would be very long. And I was uncomfortable for my motive, probably I got this lesson for exactly that reason: my friend wrote that he sent me money, $ 10,000. And a ring for me. (This also surprised me and I wrote, how canyou you send the ring in a parcel, and not at the meeting to put it on my finger). I was surprised at that, too, I wrote that such operations are done through a bank and I realized that something is wrong. But how exactly my brain worked. It was beyond my control. My friend, who lent me money, did not come to the notary's office for a very long time to notarize the transfer of money, and my doubts grew more and more. I already wanted to leave and call that I changed my mind, but ... alas, I did not. I think that by some kind of hypnosis I was bewitched. I do not know, I can not answer this question now. For a very long time I kept both the correspondence and the photo in the yahoo, but when all the services refused help, I simply deleted them.
As soon as the money was sent by us, my doubts had the upper hand over my senses, although it was already late ... very late.
@swissclive: Western Union service instead of a normal bank-to-bank transfer?
Neither I nor my friend thought about it. We do not deal with scammers every day. This was my first and very sad experience ...
I checked the phone number through the Internet and found other women's letters about this person that it was a marriage crook ... and everyone was careful ...
but the money is listed by me ...
Can you imagine my despair at that moment. I admit, and now I'm not much easier. Although all this time I understand that you can not 100% trust online. Wrote again chaotically. But how is the flow ... @swissclive Sorry))

Now I understand how he tricked you to pay for the parcel. He told you that it contained $10’000 and an engagement ring. It must have been hard to resist.

From what country was his phone number?

If you read some of the other blogs here you will find some which talk about how the scammers operate the romance scams.

Now you have been a victim once, you may be contacted by “the police”, saying they have caught the scammer, and will return your money. Except, you must first pay a fee......

Do not trust anyone who contacts you online about returning your funds.

Thank you @swissclive! For the present, I have read very few other posts, although the new one is always interesting, I'm new.
I considered myself a sensible and intelligent woman, and in this situation it turned out to be a complete fool ... sad, but true ...

His phone number was from England. And he himself, as it turned out later, from Malaysia. It turns out, for the sake of such a goal - they spent a decent amount of money on telephone communication with the number of a foreign country.

It's been three years since these events, he or his friends tried to contact me through social networks after a while.
But I already understood the false.

I am grateful to you @swissclive for this topic, which you raised, my experiences came out, and I was able to tell this story without straining.
I have long forgiven this man, life is a boomerang.

But the unpleasant residue remained. And not only a deposit and a huge debt for me, I have been working for a year free of charge and repaid only a small part of the debt.

All the will of God...

All good! And do not be in a similar situation ...))

))) In my mail, I still found one of his letters. The letter is dated January, and he asked for money in March ...

Friday, January 10, 2015 23:17 Jackson Max [email protected] wrote (s):
Svetlana my sweetheart

How are you? Hope you are good and always be in a good condition. Darling i am very much interested in you and I'm so glad to have you in my life, you are like a pearl that shining in the sea and now you are shining in my heart like a morning star, i cant stop thinking about you my love, you always be in my mind everywhere every time my sweet angel. I miss you, I really do.

Even though i never set my eyes on you but i must let you know that the love i have for you is endless. And when you think about it, how could you possibly miss someone you never meet, but darling i really do love you.

So now, how about the good people in your Country there? I learnt that a lot of foreigners go there always for Vacation and investment? It has been a long time I have interest to invest outside from my country such as to buy house and some other things! Well I will love to know more about the tourist places in your country. I will like to visit your country soon to meet you face to face and also to invest there, I would like to seek your advice in what business can be good and profitable for me to invest in?

There are no words that can possibly explain how I feel right now, in fact i really don't know what to say right now but i hope to see you someday to show you how i feel about you. Please take proper care of yourself for me. I love you so much darling. Miss you ... KISSES

Well such words are enough to sweep any lady off her feet. I noticed a few small things: “in your Country there”. That sounds like he is writing the same words to more than one lady.

“I will like to visit your country”. This poor grammer in English is straight out of Nigeria.

Lastly the comments about vacation, tourism and investment are very generic. It’s another indication that he is using the same words with many ladies in many countries.

You may want to read about hundreds of people who had the same experience:
https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/blog/2015/07/faking-it-scammers-tricks-steal-your-heart-and-money?page=3

Yes, you @swissclive write this already, knowing many situations. Noya was not tempted by such acquaintances and did not pay attention to it. Thank you @swissclive, I will follow the link and read the same sad experiences of people.

That really sucks... I hope you've had better luck in your love life since then.

WOW!!! ))

Thank you very much @swissclive for First Prize in the competition "Scammers" in the amount of Transfer 25.000 STEEM.

You even wrote that I can win this prize, but it still turned out to be a huge surprise and a very pleasant surprise for me.

I wish you @swissclive and your family happiness. ))

Wow. That is outrageous! Marriage scam. These people have lost every sense of humanity. I'm glad you did not take irrational steps after this event, except you just didn't tell us about that.

Many would just give up on life or on marriage, if not even for the monetary part of the scam, the emotional part too. By the time such a person if captured and dealt with, people who have Ko idea what he has been doing will still pity him. This is sad. @svetozarnaya. I hope you've gotten over this event, enough you didn't mention how long ago this happened.

As you @tolustx correctly wrote: "Marriage scam." These people have lost every sense of humanity. "
Yes, this lesson was difficult emotionally. But also financially (((
Thank you @tolustx for your attention and comment.
Anyway, I believe that there are more good people on our planet))
@tolustx Be happy!

Да, это был настоящий мошенник...

Да, хочется верить, что хороших людей больше...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36