I WAS SCAMMED!

in #scammers7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180227_155941_834.jpgI sincerely appreciate @swissclive for the privilege to partake in this writing competition about, "scammers, a scam you saw, a scam you suffered’’. I’ve long awaited the day l’d write and share ‘the scam I suffered’’ and glad that the day has come.
HERE IS MY CONTEST ENTRY
Without doubt, scammers are everywhere and increasing on a daily basis. Here, people engage in scamming a lot to survive. They perceived/took ‘’scamming’’ as a profitable business which everyone must invest in to become successful.
My experience wasn’t funny at all and I live to remember because it left a foot print in my life. ‘’Blackberry scam'’
On 25th January, 2015 was the beginning of my ordeal/predicament, when I got to know about the mobile phone called ‘Blackberry’. It took me months to save money because I needed to get the newly and, popular phone to avoid intimidation from people. I starved and engaged in menial jobs to get that actualized which I eventually accomplished.IMG_20180227_163222_568.jpg I bought a Backberry (curve 7) with ’’2a2d9a6e’’ as my pin and became so excited with such achievement. Am sure that many would agree with me that ’’Blackberry phone’’ comes with this possessed features that held the user captive and obsessed with the phone. You can’t just resist the beauty, quality, applications and lots more of the phone. So was my case, I got 100% glued to my newly purchased blackberry phone and also work round the clock on BBM and sometimes skipped meals. Occasionally, have I gotten lot of testimonies from friends about the caliber of friends being kept on BBM. I was told that on their BBM, their friends are majorly from outside the country and I got interested in having foreign friends. ( A dumb ass me you thought) #smiles. I never took my time to understand how BBM works but was so eager connecting with the world. As friendly as I am, I appreciate making friends and connecting with people from far and near, share ideas; get to know about their cultures and lots more. Having friends who’d share that with you was more appreciated than reading internet journals(my opinion), unknown to me that I had began digging my scam grave which I ended up been buried
On 7th February, same year, my almighty blackberry had a flat battery as a result of excessive operation and there was no power supply; I couldn’t withstand the loneliness so I took my time and visited a neighbor who powers his house with an inverter to charge my phone. Sincerely yours, there’s no way you’d plug a blackberry to an electricity socket without operating it (blackberry users understands can relate). I switched it on and started operation after 5 minutes. The first message notification I received was a BBM invite from this white guy who claimed to be "Fredrick’’, his display picture was awesome and accepted it immediately; I went straight to check his profile and saw an renown international country’s flag and phone numbers. We started chatting and got used to each other, learnt different things from him and were happy which I did tell my friends about Fredrick. Our bond was stronger but encountered difficulty in video chatting. On a fateful day, he requested for my ‘’SKYPE ID’’ for video chat (it’s as if Fredrick knew everything about me before asking that question). I told him that I’d have loved and appreciated that but not having a phone or laptop that’s compatible with the ‘’SKYPE APP’’ and he promised to send me an ‘’apple iphone and a laptop’’ IMG_20180227_155916_016.jpg the following day. I was flabbergasted, and so excited which I told my friends about Fredrick’s generosity. My friends advised me to be careful and not to give in to such promises but I hardened my heart, blocked my ears; thought they were envious and jealous of me not knowing that they were trying to save my ass from being scammed. The following day that the gadgets were to arrive, Fredrick sent me pictures of what I was to receive and promised to ship them with clearing cash inclusive. I thanked and prayed for him and received calls from a cargo courier company on Thursday, claiming that my parcel had arrived. They requested my details for confirmation with that on the parcel (everything looked real) which I did send all to them and was invited to pick it up anytime soon. I realized that it’d take me weeks to get to their office location and also on a high side (expenses). IMG_20180227_160022_118.jpgAs anxious as a bride on the day of wedding, so was my state of mind and couldn’t wait to receive the shipped items, I subjected to the courier’s offer to get it delivered at a cheaper rate to my doorstep. It was an overwhelming moment and couldn’t think straight, I received my salary and allowances the following day and went straight to the bank like a sheep being led to the altar for slaughter, I made the shipping and delivery payment with unending satisfying smiles on my face with the hope of getting the said cash in my parcel. Few minutes after the payment on Friday morning, the payment got confirmed and I awaited the arrival of my parcel. 3days later, no parcel was delivered, I contacted Fredrick and the so called cargo courier company but all effort was futile. I had been blocked from getting through to them on all channels unlike before. I was downcast, dejected and heartbroken but had to accept it as my fate. Thanks. photocredit:google.

Sort:  

Eyah. Sorry brother .. God will recover ur missed for you.. Be strong.. Steemit is here to help!!!!

“Please pay the shipping fees is a common scam. How did you send the money? Was it bank to bank or anonymous Western Union?

It's bank to bank. And when I went back for account tracing the accountant told me that the account was blocked few hours ago.

Nice post dear@oduwole

Thanks and I do appreciate you for stopping by! Bless you baby!

Same here daer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56512.08
ETH 2344.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33