I fell into the hands of "419ners"

in #scammers6 years ago

After my National Youth Service Corp, I began job hunting like a cheetah running after a prey. In Nigeria, NYSC as it is abbreviated is a scheme designed for graduates to serve the nation compulsorily for one year before they start looking for job placements. It was also designed to foster unity among the ethnic nationalities that make up Nigeria.
The most prominent and common scam in Nigeria is what is generally known as "advanced fee fraud" and locally called "419". How it came about that coded numeric name is a story for another day. This form of scam takes different dimensions. It mostly involves payment for non existing goods or services. It could be either in the public or private sector.
As soon as i finished my service year i began sending my resume to organisation and companies for possible placement. I unfortunately met a man who claimed to be a job scout for the government in my state. He promised to facilitate my job placement in the Ministry of Justice. His sugar-coated tongue made me believe him. He said i only need to give him N250,000.00. He reiterated that the said money will be used to "grease the palm" of the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry. I swung into action as i applied for loan of the said money from a cooperative society i joined while in school.
I took the money to him after about a week and he promised that the following month, i should come and resume work. Not asking the job description, kind and level, i sang hymns of praise throughout my journey home.
Then came my assumption of duty day, i dressed formally in black suit on a white shirt with a grey coloured tie. As i alighted from the public bus i boarded to my new office complex, my eyes sighted a "Black Maria" parked outside the complex with some policemen lurking around it. "Black Maria" is used to convey criminals or suspects mostly from the prison or detrntion to the Court for case hearings
I later found out that the man i paid money to was one of the most wanted "419" in the state. He has swindled many people of their money with a promise of securing a job for them. I became dumbfounded. The policemen whisked me away to the police station not in the "Black Maria" but in a wagon vehicle in order to take down my statements and file a case for me.
It was an horrible and horrendous experience. I swore never to fall into the hands of "419ners" again. After some years, i got a job of teaching in a private school with a meagre salary. But ever since the 'gospel according to Steemit' was preached to me, i resolved that i will strive and work hard and stay focused in it. I might consider quitting my job in order to have more time to blog through Steemit.

Sort:  

Sad reality of our country, Nigeria. Where we pay for services we don't enjoy, where we seek out investment opportunities praying not to be scammed, where everything seems not to be working and so on.

The best investment is in oneself in this country. And a team of like minds to better the lives of those around them.

That's an experience there. You may try to add pictures to it, sir.

Postimages.org is very good

Loading...

Another question.... what is 419?

It is a popular term used in Nigeria for scammers that even a year old child could relate with and give perfect meaning of 419. 419 is not a good name that everyone condone. In Lagos state, once you are tagged a 419, the penalty is death, the street hooligans set them ablaze instantly because mercilessly they defraud people of any kind.
Lagos is a state where you buy a new phone and on getting home, all you will see is an empty phone with ordinary casing and some food or paper in it to make it have a bit weight and to deceive you the more and you can't go there back to claim they gave you a wrong phone or they scammed you, never. They would even be laughing at you because you can't do anything and that is their profession there in "Computer Village" the experience is too bad and numerous that no Nigerians would be able to explain more details in this your contest. We experience 419 act almost everyday of our lives in Nigeria.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82