My Hoist Money - The Day I was scammed

in #scammers7 years ago (edited)

marypoppins.JPG
It was getting dark, close to what I can describe as a monologue was going there in the thick shadows just a stone throw away from where I just alighted. And lo and behold it was a man, poorly dressed , so I thought to myself he must be mentally deranged.

I started having doubt when I noticed him kept moving close to me, gesturing to me as if he needed my help. I couldn't get close to him because of the way he was dressed. However I learnt him a ear when he uttered some proper vocabulary. In his voice he sounded like this " please young man, help me! help me!!! he beckoned. He further explained his condition stating he needs my help financially as he has being suffering from a condition the doctor described as Achalasia, although am unfamiliar with this medical term. I managed to listen to his story in detail until I was convinced while keeping some distance, I felt compassionate after he showed me some identity, proof of medical report of a notable hospital and the result of the scan he had. I felt compelled and decided to help him right there with something important, I will tag it my hoist money ( I mean I was in a situation where that money represent the bulk of what I have budgeted for that week, although I normally have some extra to cover unforeseen contingencies).

After putting so much thought into it, I felt Ok let's help build some bridges, took out my purse and handed him 5000 Naira (equivalent to about $16). That was how I handed my hoist money to a stranger. The story didn't end there.

Just three days later, On my way home, I saw the same man in the bus I boarded soliciting for passengers help while laying claim to another condition which he described as cancer of the lungs, a story plot he beautifully crafted to appeal to his listeners which was entirely different from what he shared with me. I didn't give him a glance as barely remembering my recent encounter with him left a scar in my heart. Although I have forgiven him and have moved on since then, however am being more careful with strangers nowadays.

Jan 16, 2018 remains a day I will never forget as I felt have being scammed of my hoist money. There in the bus with him I had series of thoughts passing through my mind; should I call him out, should I confront him or should I just leave him.

At the end of the day, I guess I took the right decision and learned my lesson.

However, this story should not demotivate you to help a stranger because some people really need our help but rather try to do it with caution to avoid letting your goodwill turn into a bitter pill or mixed experience.

That is my mixed experience with a stranger!

Till next time, keep helping keep steeming!

Thanks for reading

Please leave a Comment, Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you love this article.

Sort:  

...story should not demotivate you to help a stranger because some people really need our help but rather try to do it with caution to avoid letting your goodwill turn into a bitter pill or mixed experience.

To be veracious, this was the most important base I was looking out for when i started reading. But am glad you still gave word of advice to the mass public not to desist from reaching out to those who genuinely need our help🤝 .Sorry for your lost too. Thumbs up for your post🖒

Thanks, really appreciate you managed to read the story with purpose.

Often we see people faking afflictions in order to beg. If I wanted to be some kind of god, I would go around “curing” these people. There was a funny scene in life of Brian about a fake beggar.

Wow, Lovely video. So the beggar actually ended up facing the wrath of the people who thinks Brian is the Messiah. I think the event of the Messiah exposed the true identity of the beggar. I hope they receive healing!

You got a 2.25% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @apiprincz!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 0.98% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @apiprincz!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Great story, it's not good to play with health, I think you made the best choice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75