ATM scammed in Europe!? Don't panic like me! + Update on my situation

in #scam6 years ago

442854-how-to-spot-a-credit-card-skimmer.jpg

We've all heard the ATM scams that are ever so prevalent and getting more and more devious.

Some of us take extra precautions, judging on ATM placements, card readers etc, whilst others of us don't think the odds of happening is worth the worry.

That's right.
ATM transactions happen all the time, all over the world. The odds are in your favour.

So what happens when you DO get scammed?

Initial thoughts are panic of course. I don't blame you.

I panicked.

About 2 weeks ago I was ATM scammed.
I still do not know the details about how the culprits managed to pull out 5000 Australian Dollars in transactions spread over 28 transactions over 5 days across India without being challenged.

My bank should have cancelled the card, but didn't because I suspect a previous security failure on their part led to more relaxed security on my account.

Transactions were taking place within seconds of each other. Definitely a red flag and your bank should notice these and send you a security warning.

================================

Here are some things I learnt and I'll share

  • Have a working phone number registered with the bank whether roaming or just to receive SMSes or phone calls

This costed me a lot of unwanted stress.

The bank will contact you on your phone often through SMSes with security codes to confirm identity or security warnings. I lost my SIM card overseas and my phone was compromised.

In my case, I watsapped my family and got them to call the bank and let them know the number to call me on whether it was a friends phone, or a hostel phone number.
(Sometimes these calls to the international bank can be hours. I personally have called 5 times averaging 1 hour calls because of security processes)
You might be able to save some money if you are not able to international call.

I had an email registered as my primary contact but it still took them a few days to send me an email.

  • Download a banking app if you can

Some countries such as South Korea will send you an sms message each time a transaction goes through on your phone. This is quite neat and so you will know instantly if you have been double charged or charged more than you should have been.

I guess I have been spoiled by this system and thus going back to my Australian card, it is a little worrying not knowing the details of the transactions.

Having said that, there are plenty of banks that use banking apps these days and so you can monitor your transaction history with ease.

However DO be very careful with your phone if you use an app. It will mean one more headache to deal with if you were to lose your phone!

  • If you are worried, withdraw at a bank (Inside the bank)

I am usually quite skeptical of ATMs because of all the scams I hear about. ATM card skimmers put on top of the normal atm, secret cameras installed to peek at your password. People to distract you whilst others take your money. You name it, there is going to be a scam fitting to your imagination.

Inside the bank, the ATMs are much more secure and are usually monitored 24/7 and at times closed during the night time, so would-be-scammers would have little hope trying to meddle with them.

I used 2 different ATMs both outside the bank in London where I was scammed. I was actually very careful in examining the card reader as a safe measure, and I always cover my hands when I input the pin. I don't know if it was those ATMs that gave away my card details or if it was some form of online hack when booking accommodation/transport.

Do know that if the scammers are smart, they will pick the ATMs that are most commonly used. So maybe those promising ones outside the bank too. Of course not to say all of them are bad, but if you're travelling and you ARE worried, then go inside the bank to be on the safer side.

  • Call the bank immediately when you find out

This is a no brainer. Find a phone, somehow some way. If you are borrowing someones phone and worried about the international charge, then once again, you can tell the bank the number to call you back on.

One thing to know is these scams happen so often, that the banks will most likely give you back your money because banks are also insured for these situations.

So don't worry too much. In the moment, all the times working hard for your money might flash through your mind.
Keep calm. Go through the steps and make sure the scam stops right there.

  • Have a new card sent to your location

I had to go to the embassy to receive this piece of instruction.
In hindsight, it was so logical that I did not think to do it in the first place.

Banks can send your new card to another address if you wish.
In the moment, I just had the new card sent back to my home address thinking that they couldn't send it abroad.

The next day I called in again to cancel the card sent to my home address and to get them to send another card to the Netherlands where I currently am travelling.

Send it to a friends accommodation to be safe, but most cards will require you to personally activate anyway so it is quite safe to send it to your hostel or hotel. My bank told me usually it will 3-5 business days, though officially 5-7 business days to send your new card through international post. Some will be quicker than others.

  • Some banks offer emergency funds

My bank, HSBC Australia, offers emergency funds for Premier or Advanced account holders for overseas branches of HSBC, which unfortunately did not include me. However other banks may have such options, so do find out.

Alternatively there is the option to get your home bank to send emergency funds through VISA, and you can call them on their number as well.

  • Reach out to your social media

You might have some friends and family to console in at first, but when you're thousands of kilometres away in a foreign land, you'll need all the emotional and tangible support you can get.

I literally spammed my situation live to my Facebook in order to lower my stress and panic.

If you situation is sticky enough, you'll find that many people you know, even if you haven't met them many times may have had similar situations in the past, and want to help you.

I had received offers of monetary support from people I barely knew, or acquaintances over my closer friends.
I also received contact from people who were contacted by my friends/acquaintances to offer assistance to me! WOW!
That is an extra mile.

On the day of the scam, I ended up having a homecooked meal at a friend's place whom I had lost contact with for around 5 years, with her husband I had never met.

The hospitality I received kept me sane. I am forever grateful.

Messages of support and efforts to help also made me feel better mentally and emotionally. Ready to tackle the issues again.

My sister's highschool friend contacted me offering me a couch to crash on for 2 nights.
Homecooked meals, and all the assistance I needed.

Even now, I am currently at friends place in the Netherlands who I met whilst travelling in Japan.

Do not underestimate the power of social media!
It's there. So use it!

  • Take up the offers of help

Personally, I wrote about this already, but I am quite a proud person. I don't like looking weak, or accepting help.
I'm usually the one giving the help, but sometimes it is okay to admit you need it.

It has been a lesson to learn to accept offers of help.

When someone offers to buy you a meal, a drink, a snack.
When someone offers you a place to stay.
or even just the little things. Don't let your pride get in the way like me.
But do be grateful.

=======================

That is all for now.

And here is an update!

40131033_10160720815430366_8883104399585443840_n.jpg

My bank has returned the money I lost!

Yay!

Sort:  

Congrats on getting your cash back it can sometimes be a battle.

I would say the only thing overlooked as a possibility is public wifi, I have heard of atms even being set up on a public wifi at private businesses. When you do anything with a password on a public wifi there is possibility of the information to be intercepted. I use a VPN for all my activities while connected to a public wifi, here we often get people mimicking a free public wifi even allowing internet access through their fake wifi just to intercept your data but with a VPN their attempts are useless.

I once went to the cashier at a small hole in the wall coffee shop and asked if their internet was down only to be told they do not have public wifi. I showed her the available wifi and that their was one listed for the business but no internet connection, she wasn’t surprised saying “why do people do this?” I had to educate her of the scam which she called the police and the culprit has seemingly disappeared from the area. Multiple charges to go with this one, guaranteed jail time in Canada if caught.

It’s really good to hear your back on track, isn’t it crazy how the people you never expected to help will go above and beyond. People you have never met. People whom have little to offer themselves can still offer the thing most important in times likes these, support!

So... you going to start vlogging your travels? With everywhere you have been along this journey it would have made for an epic travel vlog, which those get a pretty decent response on DTube. Besides the monetary rewards I find vlogging therapeutic, something about listening to myself talk while editing helps to think through ideas and situations.

As Always

Stay Strong and Post On

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeh, that's a good one. Public wifi is always dangerous to do your online transactions on.
I always try to use my data to do it, but thinking back, there could have been a case or two where I used the hostel wifi.

As with vlogging, I used to do vlogging, kinda still do it but I haven't edited anything or uploaded in a year because no time to haha. Takes too long, I'll do it when I'm back from travelling!
I also tried D-tube before but I didn't like their quality...plus I don't have a laptop to edit on now, so that's also a complication. :/

Check out GoPro Quik and Splice software for mobile editing is pretty simple, I am still working on how to upload to DTube with mobile on iOS but it’s possible with android using Chrome... as for quality they have come a long way in the last few months and complications are slim to none now 🤙

Your in my sights for onboarding 😎 the #OneLoveDTube community would be happy to welcome you with open arms!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by d00k13 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you guys for helping me to encourage others with your service!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 129 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Good pick!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66530.02
ETH 3495.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64