Vote: How should I respond to a bad car deal on Craigslist

in #scam8 years ago

Last week I purchased a 2000 Jeep Wrangler near NYC. The jeep was loaded with add-ons, a lift, new tires, brakes, shocks, the works. Upon investigation, the frame seemed to be treated around the wheels and I was told the entire undercarriage was fully treated last month. With a new inspection sticker and from what I could see, there was no reason to doubt his claims.

I purchased it and drove it 2 hours home. Took it to a garage the next day for an inspection in my state. Turns out it won't pass and is not even safe to drive. The frame was riddled with holes and the driver side control arm had less than an inch of steel holding it together. One pot hole away from a tragedy. Without the lift, I was unable to see how bad it truly was and the previous owner sprayed over any visible rust. $4500 for a jeep that cannot safely leave my driveway. Full frame repair + new oil pan (also has a hole in it) + discovering and fixing the check engine light that magically appeared on the way home = ~$1000 - $2000. Previous owner's response to my news was 'I don't care, we don't live there anymore.'

I need help deciding what to do next:

A. Stop being a bitch and suck it up. Take full responsibility for trusting a stranger on Craigslist like a dumbass and allow karma to take its course.
B. Buy a bottle of Jack, grab 3 bricks, and go hunting near the city (not in the jeep).
Keep posting to raise enough Steem to C. Fix the Jeep or D. Send a him a glitter covered prostitute with herpes.
E. Fill in the blank with a better solution.

Sort:  

I've never used it, but there must be downvotes on Craigslist.

Unless you think you can prove fraud (it certainly was, but can you prove it?), you might have to consider this an expensive lesson. Inspect first, then buy.

What state are you in? Many states have lemon laws that will cover even Craigslist sales. You got scammed and should get your money back! F that dude

PA. I was under the impression Lemon Law was for new cars only. I will have to circle back to Google research.

Congratulations @trunk! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @trunk! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42