Beware of the Qurator scam on Steem.chat!

in #scam6 years ago (edited)

Scammer.jpg


Another day, another scammer. They pop up like weeds and we bash them down like that whack-a-mole game. Still, we always have to be careful and warn others of scammers doing their rounds.

One of @qurator's moderators (@ackhoo) got notified by @kenechukwu2 that some scammer is using Qurator's name in Steem.chat. Trying to get some free SBD for registrations to the Qurator project. When she notified me the scammer was asking 10SBD. Asking for transfers only to a blocktrades address and not a legit Steemit account. This already sounds fishy.

I decided to message the Scammer and this is how it went:

chat.png

Well, would you look at that, the price doubled! Desperate times I guess. =P


I will not be including the rest of it since I lost my cool and did use some not so family friendly language. He/she did get a piece of my mind and then eventually left (or got deleted by admin).

I did contact @followbtcnews and @guiltyparties and their response time was impeccable. Soon after I saw the account disappear. I take it that it has been removed. Thanks @followbtcnews and @guiltyparties

I was furious but also flattered to think that they would pick us to be involved in their little scheme. =P

Just a friendly warning for all steemians out there. We are @qurator and you can contact us on DISCORD don't believe anyone who claims they are Qurator and wants funds to be sent to their @blocktrades account.

Qurator 3.0 - UPDATE POST - Guidelines | Registration Details | Tier Changes

Want to support the project?
Vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on

Via steemit.com.

Via SteemConnect.


Thank you for reading! Steem on Steemians!

Banner.png

Sort:  

LOL. The least he could do is to first find out who created qurator.

My thoughts exactly. Lol. Didn't expect him to reply after I messaged him.

Hope nobody lost money to it before it was removed.

As far as I know nobody did. Luckily we saw it early on and his rates were way to high anyway =P

Hope he didn't profit off of that. Sucks that people are so desperate (and/or sociopathic) that they feel the need to rip people off.

What people wouldn't do for money. Think he didn't catch anyone though so that's good.

What people wouldn't do for money. Think he didn't catch anyone though so that's good.

Well done!! 💪

This spamming scamming stuff seems rampant @scrooger.

i hope things will be put in place to block it more effectively, at least in the case of Steemit spam accounts being created. They are pretty obvious so I would think they would be easy to block before they even started.

Yeah I agree. More should be done. It is so easy to creat an account and then from there the possibilities are endless. Scammers gonna scam. We will sniff them out and put an end to it the best we can. =) all we can do for now

Yeah. I report as many as I can to steemcleaners but not much seems to be done about them. I occasionally get a payment so, I assume, some of them are taken out but they are in the minority.

As you say all we can for now. 😊

Sad such shady people keep showing up trying to take advantage of people. Glad you guys caught this one and dealt with it. Have a great weekend!

Appreciate it mate. Yeah dealing with them is getting easier and faster. Yet, they will always be back.

Hope you are having a great weekend too! =)

That I am, new league in Path of Exile just started. Having some fun in a hardcore race. I was number one for people who sign up here on steemit. Went to bed now i'm very much not haha. Which is to be expected some these people level like crazy!

Unfortunately some people always try to take advantage of manipulating the system or others.

I'm laughing reading the conversation... lol..

Yeah, I was laughing too. Tried to play dumb and get a steemit account name. Wish I could though, would have flagged him to bit. Hehe. Ah well, at least the steem.chat account is gone.

It's such a shame that people want to destroy this beautiful platform through their treacherous and illicit activities
Thanks a lot for this info
We all have to watch out for this guy and his kind

It does suck indeed. Guess they will always be around. If there is money then there will be scammers. We just have to be careful and stay on our toes. =)

It never ceases to amaze me how many people will go to great lengths to manipulate and exploit a system, rather than simply use it the way it was designed to.

My thoughts exactly. If they just put in the same time and effort then they can actually build up a decent account. They are all just looking for a quick buck

Thanks for the warning @scrooger, have resteemed! Scammers everywhere, one of my pet hates!!!

Appreciate the resteem. Would take that over an upvote anyday. =) Thanks! On of my biggest hates as well, stupid people

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57