WARNING PRE-ICO SCAMMER ON GOOGLE RESULTS

in #scam6 years ago

My fellow Steemers please pass this around... Let's prevent people from getting hurt who support the blockchain!


First let me state I am not recommending or giving any advise positive or negative about any investment.

But during my research for my own purposes I came across, an extremely very deceptive scammer. And I wanted to show you the most rudimentary tool to easily check out whether someone is part of an organization on not....

WePower is about to into ICO in a few days and I heard the white paper was closed pre-sale.
But I wanted to do my diligence and find out more on it. THIS IS NOT ABOUT THEM!!! And you should take nothing bad or good about them from my information.

So I typed wepower ico in google.

Low and behold the first site that comes back is we-power.network as an AD...

I look at it and everything looks fine it has all the information and it says I can still get into the pre-sale for $200 in etherum or bitcoin.....THAT SET OFF BELLS BECAUSE NORMALLY THEY SAY EXACTLY HOW MANY OF A PARTICULAR CURRENCY AND EXPECT YOU TO REGISTER FOR AN ACCOUNT FIRST!!!!

SO I go back to my search results and see that the first real result is Wepower.network I go into it and it tells me the presale is closed!

So a little investigation to see if they are the same, showed me that te first were scammers, jumping on a believed to be hot ico.... If they were not, I would assume the same company would have registered both domains and hosted on the same server and that is far from the case...
The scammers register in Canada and the ICO in Panama...They have different contact info and registrar and hosting!!!!

see the DNS RECORDS FROM WHOIS,
First the real guys....

Now the scammers.....

I am making no recommendations about this or any ICO all I am doing is warning you to be careful about these scammers. Make sure your URLs actually point to who you are dealing and don't just double check with your friend TRIPLE CHECK and vet it your self....

Choosing winners and losers in crypto currency is tough enough. But there are a lot of ways for you to get separated from your money.

During the Gold Rush in California and the Klondike many miners lots of miners lost there money to scammers before they even got a chance to mine and those that found gold were often robbed and killed before they could bank it!

It really is the wild west out there and there is no sheriff to protect you..
So watch out for these guys

Sort:  

Good catch. We need truthful and aware folks out there checking out stuff like this. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76