Beware, @lola70 is using social engineering to get you to reveal your secret login data for Steemit.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #scam6 years ago (edited)

I just found a comment hidden on my recent post "Best Practices for Educational Sites That Teach Computer Programming". I was curious, so I revealed it, and a complimentary message was revealed from @lola70, who gave me a link to a message and asked for my feedback.

Screenshot of post by @lola70 that shows the link has been obfuscated with a shortened bitly link, and a mouse-over message showing that the link will take me off of Steemit.)

I wondered why this person hadn't upvoted my post if s/he liked it, and I also wondered why s/he has a reputation of -1, so I followed the link, (the mouse-over text didn't have time to be shown, and I failed to note the obfuscated link).

I arrived at what was a post that didn't deserve any votes, and so I decided to try to give a bit of feedback. But, when I clicked the reply button, it asked me to log in. I looked and, sure enough, I wasn't logged in. Then I noticed that the address was steemil.com (notice L not T)! Aha! This person was trying to trick me into revealing my private key! I have flagged the account, and I would like to report this person to the Steemit team that deals with this, but I don't know the name of that account. Does anyone know?



If you appreciate this article, please upvote/like, resteem/share and share it to Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, LinkedIn and wherever else you can!

Sort:  

Thank you for your vigilance. The team that deals with it is @steemcleaners and we were the ones who flagged that account to -1. It is a fake account set up by hackers to trick people.

Ah, I thought the name was something like that! Thank you! I was fortunate in that another user posted a couple days ago about this sort of trickery, so I didn't fall prey! If I could find that user, I'd thank him/her!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29