SCAMSTER @lovelygirl MADE 131 SBD IN 17 DAYS FROM WALLET MEMO SCAM!!! (PLUS @optimisticguy TOO!!!)

in #scam7 years ago

I wonder about the impression newbies are getting when they join Steemit now? They are being greeted by robots and bombarded with offers of various "services". When I joined Steemit over a year ago, everybody told me it was a scam. Clearly it isn't and I'm still here, but I wonder how we can deal with the plethora of dodgy dealings going on? Also the scamsters @lovelygirl and @optimisticguy have made more money in a two week period than I have, with much less effort than I put in. I can't even flag @lovelygirl as "she" has no posts or comments within the 7 day payout period.


The first 3 screenshots are of her wallet when she joined Steemit 2 months ago. Here you can see the many offers of "services"  she received.

And then a memo from @optimisticguy popped up in her wallet. Clearly light bulbs went off, much to the chagrin of @optimisticguy.

It didn't take long before she received a 10 SBD payment.

@optimisticguy was NOT HAPPY

@lovelygirl "clients" began to express their dissatisfaction.

I went through the wallet history of @lovelygirl. She made 131 SBD and transferred 82,50SBD to bittrex over 2 payments. She is still reaping the proceeds of her scam. She has created well over 1000 memos during her 17 day old scam. @optimisticguy wanted to automate his memo as witnessed by the screenshots of his wallet below. Could they be working together, despite the back and forth accusations? I did not count how much he has profited from the scam, but just by browsing through his wallet, it looks pretty similar to that of @lovelygirl.

I think there should be a list of common scams in the "Welcome" and/or FAQ sections. And I haven't even addressed the dodgy resteem "services". What do you think? How can we combat this problem?

@onetree

Sort:  

Wow I was watching those 2 accounts for a while and had a feeling that something wasn't quite right! Even their usernames sounded eerily similar. Good to know now. Be vigilant ladies and gents. Resteemed.

Yes, that is what I want to encourage, thanks for the comment. :)

It would be helpful if accurate information was provided to new users upon joining (somehow). Most people, myself included, tend to get their profile set up and immediately dive into posting, upvoting, and interacting with people here without understanding the potential pitfalls that await new users.

I'm kind of a pessimist and I tend not to trust people or take people at their word when money is involved (for better or for worse) so I've managed to avoid getting scammed so far but there are still some things I wish I had known when I initially joined here.

I'm not sure I have an answer for how to go about getting useful information to new users on a large scale but I agree it is something that could be very helpful as many people are too trusting of others and their intentions.

I also jumped right in, but when I joined there were still under 4000 members. Things have gotten out of hand a bit. There is a drop down menu with info for new users. I don't know if many access it, and even if they do, a section on common scams should be included now, I think.

this is good info to spread around. thanks for the extensive work on this scam. I wish people would just stay honest in their doins and not ruin it for everyone else.

Thank you, honesty seems like a dream...

The power of greed is sickening. Dreams do come true 😉

It's about time his scam is exposed and brought to light! Thank you very much for your work on this! There should be a way to deter and punish the scammers! Keep up the good detective work! I fear there are more scammers than we can see.

Cheers.

It is sad. :(

It's Okay to be sad for a while; certain things need to be done or managed. We cannot change other people; we may try to prevent someone from causing harm to others and oneself. That's prevention or being defensive and mindful of potential danger. Then we just walk the next step, life goes on..

Be cheerful and grateful for we have such a wonderful day!

Cheers.

Lovely answer :)

I wish an account could be flagged. Also that is the rep was low enough even wallet memos would be greyed out.

It even better maybe you couldn't send wallet transfers to more than a certain number of people if your rep was before a certain threshold

We can only hope they start taking this kind of thing more seriously!

All useful suggestions; and what I would love to see happen.

She should sell a book on how to scam people and the book would be empty!

mmmm.....she would at least have 1 page

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65