SCAM Alert ! Check your upvotes. And change the passwords Today!

in #scam7 years ago (edited)

ONE DAY Genius

What you would think, if had find a post from 9 hours ago, with ~260 upvotes, and almost $60 collected in rewards, when you realize this is from somebody who created his steemit account less than 24 hours ago? When he has yet 6 followers, and has made only seven (7) posts so far? You scroll down his log, and between numerous re-steems, you see a few more posts shining ~240-260 upvotes and with $55-60 rewards. First what comes to mind is "a new whale"?" You go to his wallet, and .... can not believe your eyes - this account got 6.00 (six) Steem-power, and $153 of steem, from which every single penny was received from a Bittrex exchange.
Would you still think this might be a fair play?

mudasiral_baner.jpg

But all this is by far NOT the worst thing I discovered today.

Thief of Steem-power

Somehow I was coming again and again this last week wondering, why does my SP recovering so slow. Today I checked my outgoing votes TAB, and was rather shocked - I have made already many 100% upvotes today, on the posts which I could not really remember seeing before. This is what I found:
shit-posts.jpg
I started to open those posts, and ...could not believe my eyes - most of them were true shit-posts, simple meme copypastes, etc etc. I would never ever upvote on such a posts even with my 0.1% of SP power. What is going on ???

The first thing which ring to my mind was "minnowbooster"! I had registered to that service before, and it was upvoting on my behalf time to time, for some small rewards. Went to check my account there , and nothing suspicious was found. None of these today upvotes were listed there. Yet one quite strange thing noted there - I could not withdraw my pending balance on a numerous attempts. I tried my best - nothing worked. I felt confused.

Then I went back to the list of my upvotes ( see above) and started checking each post one-by one, trying to see how on earth all these posters managed to be so successive. Most of them were already collected $60-$280, and even more.
Very soon I discovered, that TOP upvoters on each post repeats, again and again. And again.
This is a short collection of my copy-pastes of these upvoters:
steeling_steempower.jpg
[click for full size]

My active password must be compromised !

And , ...I am not the only one! There are a bunch of dolphin accounts compromised, and all them used now to steel the steem power, by upvoting some garbage posters.
Naturally , the very first think I did was changing all my Steemit passwords. ALL.
Then I continued my research. I checked all posts from these SEVEN Steemit users, on which my upvotes been executed in the last 24 hours.
http://steemit.com/@all.cars
http://steemit.com/@jasimg
http://steemit.com/@low-high
http://steemit.com/@mrpabel
http://steemit.com/@ryanhkr
http://steemit.com/@sbd.jackpot
http://steemit.com/@zakariashikder


A total I have examined 22 posts. Collected all other upvoters into one excell table, and sorted out who else been upvoting these SP harvesters, and how many times.

Here is what I got :

Acct Upvotes Sum

1 @g-dubs 22 $22.82
2 @jasonshick 22 $15.30
3 @mathworksheets 22 $13.05
4 @maxbullion 22 $18.17
5 @onealfa 22 $76.15
6 @prosirius 22 $17.77
7 @agoric.systems 21 $8.17
8 @mrslauren 21 $10.17
9 @tastetwist 21 $8.98
10 @inertia 20 $124.88
11 @itchykitten 20 $76.20
12 @crypto2day 19 $5.21
13 @framelalife 19 $8.60
14 @grey580 19 $8.44
15 @icedrum 19 $5.96
16 @oregonpop 19 $11.55
17 @stayoutoftherz 19 $12.51
18 @vizualsamuri 19 $8.77
19 @boxmining 18 $16.12
20 @dexter-k 18 $24.40
21 @ebargains 18 $120.58
22 @ervin-lemark 18 $19.03
23 @exploretraveler 18 $24.30
24 @jonny-clearwater 18 $82.17
25 @kotturinn 18 $14.57
26 @nasgu 18 $24.84
27 @rest 18 $11.02
28 @supermeatboy 18 $68.46
29 @arsenal49 17 $10.41
30 @cryptastic 17 $9.49
31 @danielsaori 17 $9.02
32 @fiveboringgames 17 $49.61
33 @gazur 17 $6.11
34 @jiujitsu 17 $11.19
35 @liberty-minded 17 $6.91
36 @proctologic 17 $5.77
37 @rouketas 17 $5.41
38 @transhuman 17 $4.92
39 @ackza 16 $8.56
40 @embomb701 16 $4.01
41 @ricko66 16 $4.96
42 @synrg 16 $4.48
43 @connecteconomy 15 $4.11
44 @condra 14 $4.05
45 @rival 14 $3.76
46 @theb0red1 14 $3.55
47 @illuminated 13 $2.79
48 @spurious-claims 13 $2.98
49 @freetissues 12 $2.65
50 @mikegun 12 $2.63
51 @urs 12 $3.12
52 @kalemandra 9 $8.75
53 @bcc 8 $120.80
54 @done 8 $336.46
55 @kaliju 8 $4.81
56 @isaria 7 $3.90
57 @poeticsnake 6 $5.69
58 @jasimg 5 $4.44
59 @megaspore 5 $14.83
60 @rocky1 5 $203.32

And check if you Steemit ID is in the list below. If you see yourself here - most likelly your password is compromised, and your steem power if wasted to the the recipients whom you do not even have a smallest idea:
@g-dubs
@jasonshick
@mathworksheets
@maxbullion
@onealfa
@prosirius
@agoric.systems
@mrslauren
@tastetwist
@inertia
@itchykitten
@crypto2day
@framelalife
@grey580
@icedrum
@oregonpop
@stayoutoftherz
@vizualsamuri
@boxmining
@dexter-k
@ebargains
@ervin-lemark
@exploretraveler
@jonny-clearwater
@kotturinn
@nasgu
@rest
@supermeatboy
@arsenal49
@cryptastic
@danielsaori
@fiveboringgames
@gazur
@jiujitsu
@liberty-minded
@proctologic
@rouketas
@transhuman
@ackza
@embomb701
@ricko66
@synrg
@connecteconomy
@condra
@rival
@theb0red1
@illuminated
@spurious-claims
@freetissues
@mikegun
@urs
@kalemandra
@bcc
@done
@kaliju
@isaria
@poeticsnake
@jasimg
@megaspore
@rocky1

CHANGE YOUR passwords immediately !

And once you are done - you may go and do your own research, where your upvotes been going OUT latelly.

Be safe !

@onealfa

P.S.
And Please re-steem .
Let your followers to know what dangers are around, and take them counter-measures in time

Sort:  

This has nothing to do with passwords being stolen. You are in the frontrunner guild of @booster. Which is being abused, hence where those users get their upvotes from. I just posted about it; link here.

OK, now I understand what is going on, thanks @droucil. I got so much missleaded by those massive upvotes on a shitty posts.
In fact I was totally forgotten that I have some rather long time ago registered my posting pass to @booster. In general , if all would work as intended - this bot could be there in action without much damage to the steemit system. Who would sacrifice hundreds and hundreds of SBD to get probably less than that in return ? But now, once this bug is explored, there is a huge temptation to get dozens and hundreds $$$ worth of upvotes, virtually for FREE.

We must think and act hard, in order to STOP this abuse.

At least advice the wealthy dolphins and whales how their voting power is wasted against totally useless, shitty posts.

Lets act together !

I have resteemed your post, and going to make my own post soon on this serious problem by our favorite blogging platform

I resteemed your post.
But how are you gonna stop this now? the booster is already using your steem power.

It has been done. Easy.
Just got to change the posting password. In fact - i changed them all.
And thanks for your resteem

Scammers hacked all accounts if they have advantages. Steemit accounts has more rewards. So try to scam earlier.
But your scam report very helpful for protect their accounts. Thanks.
Upvote/ Resteem.

Thanks for your resteem @dragonking

@onealfa, Thanks for the giving most secure details.
Up-Voted & Re-Steemed.

Thanks for your resteem @kingsberry

Thanks for updating scam alert @onealfa. Fortunately I'm not there.
Resteemed for see another.

Thanks for your resteem @madushanka

No matter what a service/gain offers me, I would never give nor register any single bit of my information to any site build over steemit.com nor any bot nor any person. It is just a matter of personal security. Much less I am going to full around with the Keys contain in the permissions tab.

You are so much right, @justinomora. As we all know, we all make mistakes. Especially while you lack of experience. I just now completely understood, what bad can happen if you give to someone rights to act on your behalf. No matter how good the initial intentions of the service were.
No more delegations here to act from my name.

Lesson learned.

And thanks for reporting your case, because no matter how cautious one can be, always exist the risk of falling into traps because other people you trust are using any given service.

Your report has confirmed my intuition: If I want to 😴 without worries never delegate nothing, especially if you are using steemit.com as a bank or as investment wallet

@onealfa - Oh my goodness, very cunning scammers :O They found a new way to scam people without knowing them... Thank you very much for letting this know Sir...

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Thanks for your resteem @steemwija

Thank you so match @onealfa for this giving upvote and resteem done
I will following you really i like your posts
Good luck 👏👏👏👏

Thanks for your resteem @hariabbad

Important news!!! Thanks for sharing!
The whales need to crush this scamers out of steem, we cannot tolerate this kind of behavior!!!
Upvoted and Resteem!!!

Thanks for your resteem @miguelportela

Thanks for the update of SCAM Alert. good scam report for account detail
@onealfa
100% like and resteem

Thanks for your resteem @stmit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79