Do not return calls from unfamiliar international numbers: Wangiri Fraud: Protect your cents

in #scam7 years ago (edited)

In the last few weeks, I received a few calls from different international numbers. Since I was not near my phone in the two occasions I assumed that I had missed calls from people I had met in school or in my travels or maybe I landed an international job 😕😕😕 . I returned the calls only to be rerouted to automated and prerecorded voice. I shrugged it as telemarketing.

Well it is not. 😌 😌 😌

Today I woke up to the following Tweets screen shots going around. Both From Safaricom and MTN.

This is a scam that has spread widely over a year or more, judging from the MTN tweet from March last year. You get a missed call from an international number. This is disconnected immediately it rings. You call back and you are rerouted to a premium service that drains your airtime. How lucky I am I am mostly on post paid on my major line. on the other line, I had a few coins and they were all drained when I called back.

DO NOT FALL FOR THIS SCAM.


If you receive a n international call from an unfamiliar number do not return it. If it is serious the person will either leave a message or call back.

Take care of your cents.

Irishtimes in October published an article explaining the same. Maybe I have received similar calls in the past. But this is the first time it has been so rampant that even my friends are complaining about it.

See the Irishtimes article here

Thank you for visiting my blog. Join me next time for more. You can share your experience on comments below.

Here are some causes and projects I follow and support

Steemit_In_Kenya.png


boosterke.png
@boosterke for SteemitKe



APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD


Sort:  

Gosh I got a few of these and called back one since I thought it's a friend/ acquaintance. Remember this? @njoromuts? And why "Wangari"?

I have no Idea why Wangari. I will look into it.

I have received a few of those this year, i always suspect Nigerians. I have been conned before!

How were you conned?

I almost bought anointing oil, only to find out it was brake fluid 😂😂

Thanks for the heads up girl.

You are welcome

Thanks for the warning. It's actually "Wangiri" not wangari

Yes it is.

Never experienced this but it's always good to be safe than sorry.

You are a lucky one. But now you know if it happens.

I got a missed call from the +4 one , but i never bothered to return. I never pick calls from numbers i don't know especially international numbers.

I think that should be the general policy. Avoid picking and clling back people you not know. Because if it is not Wangiri fraud then it is Kamiti.

Don't answer them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58018.11
ETH 2448.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34