I believe someone on steemitchat is trying to act like he is @booster, users beware!!!

in #scam7 years ago

Earlier on today I received a message from someone that looked like @booster
But with one difference: he had a dot after the user name.
He asked for 10SBD for five 100% post upvotes.
Something like that always makes my alarm bells ring, so sure enough after a two second dig, and searching for his name, I came up with: nothing.
So hopefully no one fell for this trick. When I confronted him he went silent...

This just shows you: if you ever send money to anyone, double check the name to make sure you are sending it to the right person.

Here's a print screen of the conversation...

BOOSTER SCAM.jpg

STEEMIEEE.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sounding the alarm on this one...so many scams going around....

I know. I hate it that on such a great platform there are still people who need to try to scam others...
Instead of just making an effort.

Exactly...It's very sad and mean. I was almost the victim of a scam a few weeks ago, one of those out to steal your password...It really puts you down to know there are such people around.

Same one contacted me in private message from chat, did not get far with me either.

Good. I think most wouldn't fall for it, but felt it as my duty to post this. It's easy to make a mistake by missing details.

New platform and new scammer.
Thanks for your info.

You might enjoy a speech about valuable content from SteemFest2 on D.tube

I will check it out right now. I very much enjoyed your speech at Steemfest @detlev and it gave me a few ideas for my Steemit pitch here in Ireland. Thank you.

Thanks @misslasvegas, this is what I love to hear! Keep me posted if you need any help!

Thank you @detlev I will definitely do that. I have a meeting soon, there should be anywhere between 20 to 30 people there. I am going to inform them about cryptocurrency and Steemit. I was already thinking what to say to those who would say: 'But I don't have any (writing) talents.' And then I listened to your speech. This gave me ideas. Since a lot of Irish love their nights out and also their drink, there would be something to write about for those who usually never write anything. I think it's a great idea! Will keep in touch :)

yes Thanks but how to identify that scamers ?

Well in this scammers case, the fact that he was sending a message had my first alarm bells ring. Then a simple search of his name came up with nothing, which pretty much means he hasn't actively posted anything, so his upvotes wouldn't be worth the money he'd ask you to spend. If then you search the 'real' booster, this comes back with something else entirely. The scammer went silent after I asked him to send me a link to his blog. He had none, so knew I was on to him. It's a shame, since he obviously doesn't realize what value the steemit community has.

You owned that scammer, well done!

Resteemed to warn others.

thank you. :)

Has anybody had a positive conversation on chat? I just cant seem to get along with it. It all just seems like newbies asking silly questions and every DM I have had is someone begging for money, upvotes or followers!

I dont even bother with chat anymore now. Maybe im using it wrong. I have yet to see an intelligent conversation on there!

I've had a few of those too: I follow you please follow me and so on. But you can pretty much connect with anyone on here so it's handy if you want to ask someone something without making it public right away.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78