Possible New Scammer on Steemit Chat Please be careful

in #scam7 years ago (edited)

Hello my fellow Steemians, today I receive an interesting message on Steemit Chat. For a second I sincerely thought that the CEO of Steem had decided to write to me for some odd reason, but of course my initial surprise morphed into suspicion in only seconds.

The following is the conversation I had with Ned (of course not the real one)

scammer is not giving up.png

As you can see, in my naiveness I thought... oohh wait, he must have seen my last post regarding the songwriting competition and he thought he could help. But then he asked me if I could send him some Steem Dollars, with no explanation as to why.

I asked of course, as you can see from the screenshot but a reply was never given to me. If you look carefully he is asking me to send the money to Bittrex, and as you know that is actually the Trading platform.

So you may wonder... How does this scam work?

It seems to be that by sending the Steem Dollars with that (Memo), Bittrex would credit the scammers account and no one would be the wiser.

I took the liberty of investigating if Bittrex had received SteemDollars in the last few hours with that memo and from what I can tell the scammer has already reaped some benefits. I won't reveal the people who just sent the scammer money, but it really does not take too much work for anyone to find the information.

In any case my fellow Steemians, if you receive a wierd message from our CEO Ned (of course its not him). You can safely ignore it, just think about it for a second....

Why would the CEO need your Steem Dollars, is not like the man is trying to order a pizza and is a few bucks short.

Share this information with your fellow Steemians, make sure everyone knows of this new modus operandi. Don't let this scammer get away with it.

Musically yours

MenO -01 (1).png

Sort:  

Why would the CEO need your Steem Dollars, is not like the man is trying to order a pizza and is a few bucks short.

Hahahahahaha

So @corganmusic tell me are you going to participate of the songwriters competition I'm trying to do with @luzcypher ? It would be pretty ninja to have you

Wow, these scammers are inventing new methods. Glad you didn't fall for it, wise @meno.

thanks for stopping by brother... its getting pretty crazy, I found a witness who is working actively to inform us Steemians of these scammers, I figured I would do my part too...

Keep up the good work. We'll all try our best to be vigilant.

@learnandteach01

This is fantastic news. Well done!

Congratulations @meno! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post recieved an upvote from @omarfarukjafree. If you would like to recieve upvotes from @omarfarukjafree on all your posts,
simply FOLLOW @omarfarukjafree

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @omarfarukjafree with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @omarfarukjafree with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @omarfarukjafree with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations @meno! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98