Beware: Phishing Scam in Snail Mail from 'Walmart'?

in #scam7 years ago

IMG_20170716_203022.jpg

I received this a few weeks ago. It says from Canada Post, probably to make it legally harder to prosecute these fraudsters, or they're actually dang Canadians, who knew they had criminals there too?!

It reads:

Dear: [MY NAME] I am aware that this letter has come to you as a surprise as we have not met before or handled any business deal in the past. Nevertheless, I have contacted you with genuine intentions and I hope I can trust you with this Inheritance opportunity which I explain below.

They just screwed up their own credibility in the first paragraph by mentioning the notorious "inheritance"

My name is Mr. John Lukeman, an account manager with TD Canada Trust Bank, Ontario, Canada.

If I was a doofus here is where I would think, "Huh, okay that's why this piece of mail is from Canada with a weird black and white photocopied Walmart logo! Suspicions destroyed!"

Continuing...

I retrieved your contact address in my search for the next of kin to a deceased customer of our bank MR. [A NAME OF A FICTIONAL PERSON WITH MY SURNAME], a citizen of your country, who lived and died in London from Cardiac Arrest in the year 2007.

Well, they didn't know my family is too poor to visit London, Sorry, FAIL

Unfortunately this customer died intestate leaving his bank account with an open beneficiary status.

"intestate"? Is that a new word, misspelling or some obscure adjective I hadn't heard of before...Well Dictionary.com does confirm it means someone dying without a will. Darn, I thought I almost cracked the scammer puzzle with a typo!

All efforts made by our bank to located his relatives have been unsuccessfull...

So how much money will they claim I'll get?

...so I decided to write you as I have monitored this account in the bank for almost 10 years now and no one has come forth with any claim.

How rich will I be?

I would like to present you to our bank as his next of kin to claim this dormant account worth $9.2 Million USD (Nine Million Two Hundred Thousand US Dollars).

That's it, I'm a millionaire! I mean, that's it, into the shredder you go.

mail phishing scam.jpg

Sort:  

there goes your $9.2 million USD opportunity ;)

Thanks for sharing, the more awareness t

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66