New SCAM, beware of the fake site "steewit.com"

in #scam6 years ago (edited)

Today I saw a comment promoting some contests here.

I just checked one of those links to see what was the contest about, and I was surprised that I wasn't logged in steemit. I loaded steemit on another window and I was logged in, but I reload the link of the user to check the contest and I wasn't logged in there... Imagine my surprise when I see it is a fake site!

This is how the comments look

1.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

I was CLOSE to put my password in there because I thought it was my browser that wasn't logging me in... but no, it is a fake site trying to steal people's passwords.

2.jpg

If they steal your posting password they will use it to keep making those comments over and over again. If they steal your owner password (which is the one used by a lot of people) they will steal everything.

Be careful with these new scam attempts! This is the first time I see something like this, and it worries me because the site is 100% identical to steemit, and it seems to be connecting with the steem blockchain to load real data. So these scammers are no amateurs.

I think @ned could take legal action against this? They are pretending to be @steemit ...

Please protect your passwords and report them with @abusereports or any other account that deals with these things.

Now that user has been taken care of, but there could be others promoting the same fake website.


UPDATE

Just discovered another user (who was probably hacked) doing the same https://steemit.com/@ana-maria/comments

Sort:  

@dedicatedguy
Thank you so much for the warning alert. It’s really pity to see such scams. But it’s always good to have wonderful people like you to strengthen our community awareness.

That’s the kind of article I must Resteem !
I encourage everyone of my follower friends to resteem this alert as well .
B6509FB2-D587-4C11-85F0-F8F7C8298620.jpeg
@josteem

Thanks for your kind words

It is sad to see how far scammers go to steal. Thanks for everything.
Keep on steemin’

It’s really pity 😔

Yeah, we must use only our posting key for the most part. And avoid having liquid tokens

I urge everybody to resteem this article

@figuringoutsrn
Idid resteemed it. Thanks for reminding 🙏🏼
@josteem

huh.
I saw that and muted it.
(I mute all contests)

@everittdmickey
Muting is not enough.. if you like, you can downvote / flag it .. I think we should all do that!
@josteem

Yeah I didn't expect it to be fake actually, but I did think it was weird for an user to be promoting other people's contests...

This scam is pretty slick. Thanks for the heads up! This garbage needs down voting from everyone.

Agree 👍🏼

Jeezus, that's sleazy! You'd think, with all the work those scammers out into it, they'd apply themselves to a legitimate ecosystem builder.

Yeah no kidding. I wonder how much they have skimmed so far from unsuspecting users.

wtf good find man!

i checked (ofcourse) and indeed if you go to steewit.com you login and you need to re-enter credentials if they're saved, thanks for the warning ! ! ! in a day and age where most people dont even know what an url is , browse from phones and rarely notice the address bar this is probably not half bad an attempt , spread the word

vote.jpeg

sig :
viewed, voted, commented, and re-steemed ...

i am not a bot and i only have one account ... and im not half as bad a lunatic as it might appear but i need to hide from the normals or they come to pick my brains

anyone follows me i'll follow back within a few days

if you have complaints please check the link, or else just do that content dictator thing you do i no longer care ... a resteem is a resteem, atm to 297 people, thats 297 chances to have it re-resteemed,

...disclaimer, disclaimer, something on stalking whales and stuff, since my pathological apathy struck and i got these pills i dont seem to care much, maybe it'l get better

Computer_hacker_security_attack_thumb800.jpg

Gracias por la informacion, de verdad que hay que tener mucho cuidado.

Thanks for information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34