BTC prominer is a scam. Please don't invest anything in there.....

in #scam7 years ago

Hey guys. Last month I came across a site that promised to give you free BTC over time. I'm very skeptical about these type of sites in the first place but since it offered to give you BTC without investing anything at all, I decided to just give it a try. I'm REALLY GLAD that I didn't go ahead with investing anything into it because it is nothing more than a scam. I'll explain why in just a moment but I would like a moment to tell you all to be very careful when investing money into dubious websites. Most of them are ponzi/pyramid schemes that WILL end up scamming you in the long run.

So anyways, over a month ago, I found this website: btcprominer.life

I read some decent reviews on these guys on a bunch of forums (I'm sure they were the ones vouching themselves) so I decided to give them a shot. They give you an account that is able to cash out it's earnings after 10 days for free so I waited till I was able to hit the minimum cashout and then I cashed out. After that I basically forgot about the website completely until about a month ago when I decided to check up on it again. I had hit another minimum payout so I decided to withdraw once again. You can see my 2 withdraw requests below:

btcprominer scam 3.png

Did you notice something odd about this? Maybe the fact that it's been 5 weeks without a payout for the initial request?

Ok so yea it says it can take 30+ days for free accounts before their payouts are processed. So I thought "Hey that's fair. Maybe they'll end up paying some time in a month or so"

But then I decided to check their payouts tab and that's when I realized that these guys are nothing but a sham. Their payouts page shows a payout every minute or so. And it all seems pretty legit too seeing as how you can see those payments with transaction IDs on the blockchain as well. But here's the funny part: They goofed up

All the payments on their payout page are just random payments scraped from the blockchain. THEY ARE NOT PAYING ANYONE AT ALL. How do I know this? Simple: Some of their payments are wayyy below their minimum payment threshold.

See I have a free account and the minimum withdrawal you can request is 0.005 as shown below:

btcprominer scam 2.png

As you can see, the minimum payment you can request from the website each time is 0.005 BTC. But like I said: they scrape random payments off of the blockchain and show them off as their own and this is where they goofed up. Look at the following 2 payments. According to their payout page, both of those are free accounts as well (v1.0 next to their addresses proves that they are free accounts like mine). Take a look at them below:

btcprominer scam 1.png

But wait... What's this??? The payment that each of these accounts requested was 0.001?? How is that even possible? Their website specifically states that the minimum cashout is 0.005 so how did these 2 accounts manage to request a payment of just 0.001?

That's when I realized a specific pattern. They have a program that scrapes transactions from the blockchain. According to the size of the transactions, they are displayed in the payouts page with their specific versions. For example according to their website an investment of 7 BTC is version 1.5 and earns 1.5 BTC a day so any transaction they scrape which is more than 4 BTC, is added to either v1.4 or v1.5 on their payouts page.

It's a pretty clever scheme but at the end of the day it is only a scam. Please avoid this website at all costs and spread the word on forums so that people avoid that website run by morons who just want to steal your money.

I'm gonna end this post with a quote:

"Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned"
And these guys pissed me off when they deceived me so I have decided to expose them :)

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by arthestically from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77