ACTIVE COMPASSION

in #sc-v6 years ago

1 John 3: 16-24

Every once in a while, when I arrive at my office in the morning I usually find a surprise on my desk. Not long ago it was a cup of coffee with a sunflower design that was left to me by a coworker. I had seen it in a store and I knew it would lift my soul, so I bought it and left it on my desk with a note of encouragement.
It was a pleasure to take that gift home for my sister, and give it to the woman who wanted to encourage her.



Source



This person could simply have thought of my sister. I could have talked to someone about her in some positive way, but those attitudes would not have had as much impact as doing something practical.
In 1 John 3:18, John spoke about what we are to do when we see others in need. He told us to have an active compassion: "Let us not love in word or language, but in fact and in truth." When we see a need, it is good to talk about it, but we must also do something about it. The Bible instructs us: "But be doers of the word, and not only hearers" (James 1:22).

Ask the Holy Spirit to put someone in your heart to help him in the name of Jesus. Then, do something. Make a difference today. Send a card Give a gift Offer to take you somewhere. Call him. Love through real acts is real love.

Reflection: Compassion is love in action.

Sort:  

Compassion is a characteristic of God and as his children we should show such a characteristic as well. The source of compassion is love, as well as all the characteristics of Christ's character that are based on love. It is only through the filling of the Holy Spirit in our lives and the word of God that we become sensitive to the needs of our brothers and sisters around. A person whose heart is hardened either by past experiences, by their upbringing, because they have not had an encounter with God or by continuous rebellion at their word makes it difficult to feel compassion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78