A SPECIAL FAST

in #sc-v5 years ago

There are two personal areas with which I have fought much of my youth.


Source

The first is television because I have always been passionate about the media in all its forms. In fact, a large part of my adolescence I worked as a humorous cartoonist and graphic designer of magazines and newspapers.

I could spend more than five hours zapping with the remote control, systematically going through more than sixty channels. I never considered it a weakness, because it calmed my conscience with the argument that I was only informing myself. After all, I needed to disconnect from the daily stresses. However, little by little the hours lost in front of the television managed to dissipate my life of prayer. "I can handle this with maturity," he said, "if I choose what to look for; thus I will never have problems with my spiritual life ».

One night, after turning off the television, I went to my room to pray and asked the Lord what I needed so He could use me. Then I heard a voice in my heart: "I want you to fast. But not a fast of food, but a fast of legitimate things. "

That meant abstaining from certain "pleasures" that were not necessarily sinful but were requested of me by God. A fast of "legitimate things" implies then denying unfriendly friendships, idle conversations or hours in front of the TV screen. If you think I complained, you're right. After "explaining" to the Lord that watching television is not a sin nor watching a movie would make me abandon prayer, and after wielding many other excuses, I understood that God wanted me to start my journey on the cross by fasting from everything I occupied. my valuable time

I value food fasts a lot, but I am convinced that it is useless to abstain from food all day long if we then "choke" on television or any other type of distractions the rest of the week. Therefore, being dead to the flesh means being able to give everything not only in an occasional fast, but in our whole life.

Sort:  

@erickbrito, The true fasting to God is that which we usually do from the heart and precisely is not astewnernos food and drink although in some cases is necessary.
Thanks for sharing.

Congratulations @erickbrito! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @erickbrito! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71