You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reminder: If SBD Are Below $1, Convert to STEEM

in #sbd7 years ago (edited)

Hi Luke, can you answer another question? I just voted an up vote for you and it credited you with about $48. Why so much? Most people only get a couple of dollars when I vote for them. Why so much for you? Of course I am very glad that you get paid for your excellent work.

Sort:  

Your vote alone did not give out $48, that just happened to be the number you saw once the page refreshed and recent votes (including yours) were counted. According to https://www.steemnow.com/ your vote is worth around $1.74 which I see you've used entirely on yourself for your comment above. I think I've mentioned to you before my opinions on that (and many in the community).

As to why some make more than others, well, it's about building a following who have Steem Power to vote your way with. I've posted and commented over 8,000 times and many feel I'm bringing value so they add me to their auto-voters so to support my work and earn curation rewards for themselves.

Thanks. I learned something new. I had not heard of steemnow.com. Ijust had a good look at it now. On the question of voting, I am new-ish so don’t have a 100% understanding of how it works. I read a number of versions. Some said you only get 10 votes a day. That doesn’t seem right. Others say that each vote uses 5% of your voting power, but then I see a slider bar asking me to use 100% on each vote. I will go off and hunt down an article explaining all this. On the voting for one’s own post, I haven’t read your views but I will be sure to hunt down yours oranother article on it. My knee-jerk reaction is that it shouldn’t be allowed. From a community point of view, voting for yourself does nothing, and that right should be removed. Shill voting should also be banned. For the moment it is allowed, so I sometimes vote my own posts, but I may have a clearer idea of the pros and cons after I have read some articles on how voting is supposed to work.

I love your response because you're willing to learn. Reminds me when I first started figuring things out here. I couldn't read enough. :)

Sorry if I got you confused with someone else on the self-voting thing. Here's my most recent take on it.

Voting Power is something that replenishes all the time. The target vote per day (5) concept isn't a hard limit, but it's a number you can aim for if you want to keep your voting power high. If you vote more than that per day, your voting power will start to go down and the strength of your vote with it.

Shill voting should also be banned.

That's not really possible though due to Sybil Attacks. It's not really something you can easily avoid. Self voting is at least a bit more visible than someone commanding hundreds of bots (which happens around here quite a lot as well).

I finally located your post from 3 months ago on the topic of self-voting, and read the hundreds of comments. I wrote a long reply: https://steemit.com/steemit/@lukestokes/self-voting-scammy-behavior-rational-roi-or-something-else#@swissclive/re-lukestokes-re-surfyogi-re-lukestokes-self-voting-scammy-behavior-rational-roi-or-something-else-20171009t042154329z

I have a lot to learn on Steemit. For example I put the full URL in the above link, as I don’t yet know how to shorten it. It must be easy, but I haven’t learned it yet.

I wonder if there is a book called “Steemit for dummies” yet?

Sorry, I linked directly to the post in my comment with the text "my most recent take on it." As for making links, that's just HTML or Markdown. It's a bit tricky, but a little googling will get you going.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15