You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should SBD Be a Pegged Asset? If So, When Should We Peg It?

in #sbd7 years ago

It seems to me SBD was one-way pegged because it was designed to work with the original, hyper-inflationary STEEM.
You were supposed to keep your long term investment in either SBD or VESTS, now that you don't have to, there's not much point to it, as evidenced by it's market cap (already inflated due to current speculation).
So wait until some time in the future for it to come back to 1 USD again and either convert it all into STEEM and eliminate it in the next hardfork to avoid the unneeded confusion, or peg it both ways as you propose.

Sort:  

I agree, we should either peg it or not have it since it causes so much confusion. As I explained in my post, I'm a huge fan of having a pegged asset, so I'd be very, very sad to see it go.

The connection you make the original hyper-inflationary STEEM is interesting. I still think the inflation of STEEM (or, share dilution protection in VESTS as I like to think about it) is valuable. Maybe we should be highlighting this more.

I'm hopeful the "wait and see" approach will work. It's also possible it will just keep being pumped and dumped though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47