You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bounty 20 Steem: Should we fix SBD?

in #sbd6 years ago

This was a good read.

Let me lead with - I wouldn't use a silver dollar at McDonald's on the dollar menu because, even though the tender is intended to represent $1 USD, the melt value is much higher.

It's worth nothing, upvote bots may have some role in lack of pegging to $1 USD. By sending 1 SBD to a upvote bot, the return right now is approximately 1 SBD + $ 1 USD worth of SP under a stable value scenario (before curation's cut). The reality is of course, there is a likelihood of ending up with less SBD than sent to the bot originally, this is due to fluctuations in market price during the seven day period and timing of when upvote bot lands on the post. However, when I use these services, there is some reasonable expectation of receiving most of my SBD back under stable 7-day value, receiving some Steem, and the value of inherent post promotion.

Let me know if you agree or disagree, but it seems like pegging the USD value would be difficult when the upvote bot rate of return on 1 SBD is so attractive.

Sort:  

The value can go up or down and your taking a risk when you you use an upvote bot. So even if todays value gives you return of $1 you may or may not get that and the one dollar is the fair reward you get for taking a risk. I see this is a slightly different phenomenon than the pegging of the SBD asset.

I agree that voting bots have a role to play in the pegging issue but I don't see them as a cause. People are exploiting the voting bots to maximise how much they can extract in daily rewards from the $ denominated reward pool.

Thanks for the perspective.

I agree with this~

While I do like pegging it. I also like the returns from bots, even if its just for the SP.

马马虎虎吧

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59288.97
ETH 3114.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39