You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unpegged SBD: A Pointless Speculative Asset

in #sbd7 years ago

For now I will vote on witnesses that are agains the forced peg at this moment. I say: first look if the price comes down itself from supply-increase with all the printed dollars. If not later, when more sbd's are printed and much more people joined steemit (yes I truly believe this brings alot of people to the platform atm) you can peg it to 1$ for the reasons you described that you think are an advantage of having a pegged sbd. however we'll need a larger supply before people use sbd to safely store their value in the pegged sbd. Then again thether hasnt that big of a marketcap right? I doubt that we would have more benefit from people storing in sbd (pegged) then having these prices atm of SBD. we also didnt capture the market in 2 years but finally this price does alot of good things to the platform. I wouldnt change it quickly. I'll also make a post about it soon to defend my points and tell people to vote to the witnesses they want to follow :). Thanks for putting your toughts in a post it is good to hear out everyone :) (upvoted for visibility)

Sort:  

There's also the benefit of having a stable medium of exchange with regards to SBD. I'll kind of agree that simply using SBD as a protective asset against crashes won't do much to build the ecosystem, but I think the medium of exchange aspect is something the other cryptos struggle with. Nobody uses tether to buy things.