Invest in SBD or Sell for Steem?

in #sbd6 years ago

This analysis is on Steem-Backed Dollars (“SBD”) only. I am very bullish on Steem as an investment and feel the recent price estimates in the mid-20s are possible this year.

I wanted to take a few moments to discuss my perspective on SBD as an investment in light of recent price predictions based on technical analysis showing a possible price of SBD over $80 about a year from now.

It is extremely unlikely that it will happen, and I personally put the odds at less than 5%.

Before I give you my reasoning, you first need to understand how payouts work as well as the Steem algorithm.

The Steem blockchain algorithm produces an inflationary amount of new Steem each day. Instead of data-mining like bitcoin, here we “keyboard mine” the Steem with our content, and the daily Steem is paid out as follows: 75% to the reward pool for authors/curators, 15% to current SteemPower holders (essentially interest), and 10% to the witnesses. Right now, the inflation rate of new Steem being added is about 8.6% per year, but here is a better visual on the future inflation rate as per the Steem blockchain’s algorithm:

AC797604-DDD4-4262-825E-9437513D1BBA.jpeg

The reward pool for authors and curators is paid in SteemPower (“SP”). However, an author can select to be paid in 50% SP and 50% SBD (curation only paid in SP). SBD is paid out on Day 7 as if it was trading at $1.00, despite its current value on the internal or external marketplaces. That means that if SBD is trading for $3, you are benefiting by $2 from the price arbitrage. If SBD is trading at $0.50, you are getting hurt by the price arbitrage. Here is an example of a post payout with SBD at $3.00 and $0.50:

DD035447-13EC-4F50-97B9-362916888A9A.png

You can see the huge price difference, as SBD trading above $1 where it is supposed to be pegged is a huge windfall for the authors. If SBD is trading below $1, you would be better off (at least initially) electing to receive you post in 100% SP instead of 50/50. As I understand it (and someone correct me if I am off), Steemit Inc. is responsible for buying back the SBD they give out, as the payout is supposed to be in Steem, so there is an obligation convert it back to Steem at some point in the future.

With that background information, I can now get to my point – SBD will not be hitting the $80s. If you recall, a couple of months ago, SBD took off and hit $18 (extremely briefly), and did trade in the $6-$8 range for a couple of weeks. SBD price has continued to erode for the most part ever since, and it is now at $3.65, which is still a huge windfall for the authors.

Cryptocurrencies are largely supply and demand based. As more supply comes in, demand must keep pace, otherwise you will have price erosion from the dilution. With Steem, there are only around 400,000 active users – the potential for growth is enormous, which will make Steem even harder to get, pushing the price higher.

This is great news, but as the price of Steem goes higher, the payouts will also get higher. With higher payouts, comes more SBD printed each day (SBD produced is not fixed). Since tokens are supply and demand, and with little incentive to hold SBD except for investment purposes (Steem has incentives such as a higher vote value, interest paid to SP holders, a fairly stable price, etc), there will be many more sellers of SBD than buyers, causing pressure on the price, and therefore, making it nearly impossible for it to reach $80.

So that begs the question, who is buying up all the SBD? There is no question that some group has been parked at the bid chewing away at whatever anyone wants to sell them. Is it Steemit Inc trying to buy what they can to take care of their obligation (essentially a squeeze as not everyone sells their SBD)? Or it is Steemit Inc out there pushing SBD higher in order to reward content creators to a greater degree? Perhaps a group knows the float is low and it is not really supposed to be a trading coin, so they are buying it up in order to run it up again?

Who knows why the current price is above $1. My current strategy is to hold a slight amount of SBD (currently around 100 units) in case the current buyer decides to run it up (I imagine it would be a very short pop), but for the most part, I am selling all the SBD I receive from my posts and buying Steem with it, and then powering it up. What an awesome benefit SBD being above $1 is, but let’s not get carried away – SBD is not going to $80!

That also reminds me to mention that you need to be using the “MARKET” to buy/sell your SBD for Steem (or through Blocktrades) and not to use the “SELL” feature, as it takes 3 days to convert the SBD to Steem using “SELL”, and it does so at $1 instead of the current value on the marketplace. I hope that makes sense!

This is public blockchain, so if someone has done the digging into who the buyer is that is grabbing everyone’s SBD, that would be helpful to know!

Congrats to those who had the patience to read this whole post, and I hope it was at least a little helpful!

Brian

Sort:  

Well I'm OK with SBD going as high as it can, better for users, but you are right it won't go up to $80.00, in fact I wouldn't be surprised if it goes back down to $1.00, there are people who are pushing for that, what they benfit from a fall in SBD price I don't know, seems they just want it at $1.00 because that's how it was designed to be and they don't want to deviate from the original intentions of the creators of SBD.

They want a stable currency that will bring more merchants to the platform. Merchants need a token that remains pegged to the dollar with little or no deviation. It seems that Steem and SBDs are pegged together though for now. Some witnesses have adjusted their price feed bias to lower the price of SBDs down to a dollar.

Do you understand the sbd inflation rate?

There is no set inflation rate in sbd. The number of SBD tokens out there depends on if people are selecting the 50/50 option. In theory, if everyone chose to 100% power up, there would be no SBD produced. As post payout values rise though with the price of steem, more SBD will be printed for the payouts. Steemit Inc. needs to convert those back to steem at some point so SBD is not really meant to be a long term investment. Hope this makes sense.

I think it does. Eventually will the sbd inflation rate be similar to the steem inflation rate?

Hi @brian.rrr I take the time to read it as always, everything you publish is very helpful for me and many day to day I'm learning a bit more about digital currencies, I think you're very good and you understand the subject, I hope you continue with these publications because there are still things that I do not understand very well

How are you my friend? this information helped me a lot and I think that if the SBD reached $ 80 it would be crazy to see it in $ 7 or $ 8 now I am learning a bit of this topic I have been here a few months here in steemit and still do not understand very well what BlockTrades I see that many use it but I still can not understand it

Thank you my dear friend @brian.rrr 👍😉 for sharing this market analysis ,,, After reading your article and the wonderful analysis, I agree with you that Sabd will not go for $ 80s
Good luck my dear friend @brian.rrr 👍👍😉
All the best for you 😊

Great. Needed some clarity on this. I'm also buying steem with all the sbd I get. Took me month to figure that out. Lol.

I'm really glad you wrote this @briann.rrr . I have been ruminating over what to do with my SBD and when to do it. I had accumulated 106 sbd and was freaking out as the price came back to steem value. Whether or not the high price of SBD is good for the ecosystem was not my worry. My worry was losing money on my SBD because of doing something stupid. I decided to convert on the internal market and then power up. But now I'm understanding the whole sbd/steem thing thanks to posts like yours.

Friend Brian, I do not know what I enjoy more about you, if your videos and fishing photos, or your interesting articles on economics. Based on what you say, I'll be optimistic, and I think if the SBD reaches $ 10 or $ 15 by the middle of this year, a lot of people will be happy about the investment it made. Congratulations, I was happy the afternoon with your publication. best regards.

It is very sad to see the price of Steem and SBD get so close again. I was really enjoying getting my Steem at a discounted price. I only ever use the Market for exchanging. Block trades fee is too high so you get your best bang for your buck with the Market option.

Nice review on SBD, I always wonder why its marketplace price is so overvalued. Good post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43