You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Proposal Is An Attack On SBD... Sound The Alarm!

in #sbd7 years ago (edited)

I don't see why 50% of the rewards should be powered up. Can somebody justify it for me?

I like the idea of the users becoming stakeholders, but there's currently nothing to make me want to stay powered up, and for that reason forcing power ups is only delaying payment of liquid rewards by 13 weeks.

Some people will forever power down and whether those people get their liquid rewards today or in 13 weeks makes very little difference. Powering up should be incentivised, not enforced.

(I'm not convinced the aim is to get rid of SBD)

Sort:  

I think the most important reason is to make the SBD debt level of blockchain to go lower. So probably this would be only a temporary solution until the level is again more sustainable.

It was stated in the github issue discussion that part of the reason was to support the STEEM price by shifting more rewards to power up. I agree with you that with 13 week power down, this is simply annoying and has negligible real effect, if not counterproductive.

I'd personally like to see no required power up on author rewards. Set the default at the current 50% or 20% or something and let people change this as an account setting according to their own preferences. Users and authors should not be pressured or forced to be investors if they don't want to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69909.00
ETH 3924.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68