Steemtagram: we've got more pictures than articles these days.

in #satire6 years ago

First I want to appreciated those who take beautiful pictures and share with the steem community, although I do not like most of them, but hey, what does that matter? Obviously a lot of important steemians with huge steempower on the the blockchain do, since the photo-clique are stacking those $$$$$. Well done. By the way, if you're offended by this comment know it's jealousy speaking, so you can make a case with her later.

I remember after noticing this picture trend I tried to experiment a little...see how I could milk the system as well (hey, I'm lactose tolerant so don't look at me like that). So I dedicated to take a picture of the moon with my 5mp blackberry horrible camera and share with you guys. Well I discovered that day that many of you aren't so generous with your upvotes and I got nothing for my worthless effort, even though I tried to spice things up with a little lofty text at the bottom of the picture.

I'm not going judge or anything, I have my own reservations, but let me just ask:

Do you want a blockchain of picture lovers or idea/content sharers?

I wanted to use just content sharers but realised that even pictures are contents too. And I do believe in the universal rule of dataism, which is: share everything, but how much is everything worth? Or in this case anything. Maybe we need to go back to the drawing board and find out what this blockchain is all about in the first place. It might seem like I'm trying to infringe on the rights of people's to share whatever they feel like posting (wanted to use @berniesanders's strong words but I'm really not ready for the backlash), but we do have people here who advocate for freedom of expression and still cry over poor quality posts (who are you to tell me what quality to exhibit in my content?! You cannot control me! I'm free! I'm free!!!!!!). That's not to justify another anything. We are humans, we are a bundle of contradictions. This is because nothing is absolute. What might apply here might fail there. So on the issue: do we really want steemit to be a place where we can do whatever and earn whatever?

Well when I got here the first message I got was:

write and earn steem

So ordinarily you would expect that I expect (why all these twist and turns?!) that this is a hub for writers and creative individual and not instagram.

I'm on instagram, mind you. It's not one of my favourite social media platforms I must confess. That's because I don't fit there. People like myself enjoy the engaging arguments and toxicity of twitter, where people are always pushing their agenda. Though not a safe haven anymore for pseudo freethinkers like myself, but I will still choose it over instagram.

Now, going through trending and hot post, I have cause to worry that my darling steemit is slowly becoming that which I fear. There are more pictures than posts, more tech stuff than creative stuff, more rubbish and then a tiny space occupied by pseudo philosophers (like myself), creative individuals (which includes photographers) and those who are concerned about the sanity of this blockchain-- these are my favourite people. And yes occasionally they come with their beautiful pictures to smother me with huge pixels but I forgive them because I know sooner or later they will come back to their sense and fill my feeds with lovely ideas that will stimulate my mind or stir my rage.

Well, it's good to see that the blockchain is decentralising, so I'm hoping new hubs will be created for different individuals with different interest so we don't annoy ourselves, like you are doing right now with your nice pictures.

P.s I have decided not to use any picture for my posts today as my support for the fight against the photo-clique on steemit and I shall win this battle! Mark my words...

Read between the lines.

Sort:  

To get upvote from @wafrica, the post needs at least 300 characters! Please describe your work in detail ;-)

check again...

Do the photos take up too much download on your phone? :D
The beauty of the Steem blockchain its that you can choose Steem experience. If you don't like photography, you can leave it out of your feed. Everyone has the things they enjoy and won't see any point in what they don't like. The photography community has actually worked hard to build up to a point where they actually earn anything on their posts.

I have had someone tear into me because I didn't make my post audio instead of written. So there are some people who don't like writers. I guess they won't be following me and will find their own circle. Birds of a feather flock together. ;)

Some people don't use Steemit to access the Steem blockchain because they don't want to have to see everything posted, just the areas they're interested in. DTube, for example, only had video posts and Steepshot only photo posts like Instagram.

this is a more balanced approach to the issue than my one 'sidedness'. however one should not restrict their reach or experience that's why we explore the trending posts section, to find new contents and connect with new people. I won't claim I like pictures that much, however I can tell when it's been done poorly for earns.

steemit is the only site linked to the blockchain that works on this dead phone of mine, sadly .

Oh dear. I don't recommend the trending page! Lol! Or new, for that matter. Unless you're looking under a particular tag that isn't common. Most of the trending page is posts that have paid bid bots.

oh I do know. the new section is even worse, like I cannot understand how people post those kinds of things an expect to earn anything...

PS. I know your problem. I post on a tablet and have trouble with the other dapps.

thank God I am not the only one. hopefully I get a new one soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63342.86
ETH 2731.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64