Lack Of Diversity In ContentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #satire5 years ago (edited)

My feed today was extra boring. Seems like all anyone wanted to do was talk about the same thing. Maybe I lack a adequate set of creators that I follow that create interesting content. So I dove into the dumpster and it turns out everyone is talking about the same thing.

I know. I know. Nobody saw the end of that episode coming. Eight seasons of build up to culminate in that ending? Oh wait, we're not talking about that, are we?


Uniformity.png

I like to think of myself of the yellow point in the diagram above. I often don't mind reading what the hivemind spits out there into the ether, I'm just not a worshiper of the Church of Steem of latter-day profits (represented in the organized green hive shape). All I'm saying it that your average human being (purple, red, blue) is not going to support your cause when from the outside it looks like this blockchain shares more traits with that of a cult than say of those other social networks.

I spend more time on those centralized sites not because I'm not a believer (even though I've definitely been more skeptical of Steem in the past six months), but because when I get bored of one idea or category, I just as easily go to a different one. Not only that, but there are small groups of people in these different areas that put a lot of work and effort in their craft that I'm just intrigued by the fact someone dedicated that much time to that idea. Take this 40 minute video on the frequency of the name Bob in sports. That's part one of a two parts series. That's what good social platforms foster. A place where people can do their stuff, however random and stupid it may be, showcase it to the world and find weirdos willing to consume it.

I am a wierdo that occasionally enjoys reading about Steem. That population unfortunately is very small. So, for everyone that isn't inclined to read or care about the doctrine, well, you are probably scaring them away.

But you are free to continue doing your thing. I'm not trying to blame anyone. More that I am pointing out an anomaly that I feel is a symptom of some underlying mechanic that I feel isn't helping growth. Note that the following sentence had the word feel twice in it. There isn't anything concrete in there. Maybe I'm the one who is blind and simply needs to reread the holy scripture and repent for all the FUD I've committed (by the way I really hate when people use that term because they use it to scapegoat other people than lets say actual flaws to explain why things don't go their way).

But back to the point. I wouldn't mind just seeing folks talk about something other than Steem (our lord and savior). I wouldn't mind seeing people talk about Steem on technological terms rather than preaching about those latter-day profits that are inevitably coming their way in the second coming of the parabolic bull market. I really could care less about your money. Dump it. Pump it. Buy more than what is fiscally responsible. I don't care. I wager most people don't care. But again, I could be wrong about that. Maybe the masses really do care about @insert-your-name-here's Steem wallet status.

Well, I guess that's that. I don't expect anything to change, because we're already on course. People will buy Steem which will make it scarce which will raise the price which will make people buy more Steem. What could go wrong? (Hint: People not buying in the first place).

Before I go I must apologize to the Church of Steem of Latter-Day Profits. I am probably being a little too harsh. Unfortunately some of you folks have placed bets that normal investors would consider a little reckless and now you hope that with enough praying, the blockchain Gods will resurrect your portfolio and give you an opportunity to release the weight of those heavy bags. May the blockchain gods have mercy on your souls. As for those of you are hardcore believers of the faith, um, flag me to hell?

Sort:  

If you allow me a follow up:
How do you define: reckless bets and where do you see examples?

A bet is reckless if there is a set of reasonably possible scenarios that potentially impedes someone's future quality of life.

Example: Investing half of your life savings into a single cryptocurrency and continuing to add to that position. Granted I suppose that wouldn't necessarily apply to those who are super wealthy.

OK.. agree.. I certainly hope that does not apply to anyone here... even not nearly..

That is why I love finding the interesting posts that are outside the crypto space. Good post!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am a wierdo that occasionally enjoys reading about Steem. That population unfortunately is very small.

Uhm @greer184, maybe not as small as you would like to think it is. You should try your quest for the holy grail of entertainment harder mate.

I invite you to start reading my blog first. And then, take a brief peep on the list of those who I follow here to check if the weirdos & wackos in this place are so few.

Haha, you may even click here to check quickly what I'm saying if you feel too lazy to do what I've already said before. ;p

I bet in the worse case, you may find at least a handful like us to rescue you of that deadly boredom. };)

I guess you didn't like seeing #spud posts? hehe. The echo chamber of Steem's greatness is something that can get tiresome indeed. No one outside of Steem cares, true. But similarly, no one outside of Facebook cared about Facebook either. And anyone still not on Facebook still doesn't care. Anyone can talk about whatever they want, just not count on the rewards hehe.

The tools for content interactivity need to improve as I see it. Steemit abandoned the community for 2 years thanks to the idiot sneak they hired who made them focus on crap like mobile development which resulted in 0 product delivered. Ned failed to actualize the potential there was. SMTs have been on the dusty bookshelf for two years, along with communities. Will they ever come out? lol

Facebook was originally about you and your friends. People might have not cared about The Facebook originally, but they sure care about their friends. That's how the network grew. People will adopt something if it gives them something they care about.

It feels like Steem is about Steem and the Steem community. If you care about Steem or the Steem community which is a relatively small population, then you've got Steem. Otherwise, what's the hook? Earning for your content? You can do that on centralized platforms to a lesser extent, but even then, more people aren't creators and the user experiences on other creation platforms are vastly superior. We can hate Facebook all we want for their clear disrespect of users and their data, but their growth technique was effective in that it gave internet users something that wanted (access to information about their friends and family as well as being to share stuff with those people).

Indeed. That's why Steem isn't "social media" like the others. It's montized content (posts), curation (upvotes) and interaction of content (comments). There is no chat between people apart from comments (no PM). And also montizing simple sharing of content is pretty scammy, so you can't do like FB or twitter of sharin glink. Othrs do work to create content, what is the point of that if all you have to do is share content someone else made and rake in the money for near 0 effort. Makes for a pretty worthless platform in my eyes. I don't see why anyone would want to buy into a platform where all you do is share content and make money (like dlike does). Merit of doing work to earn your way means something to me.

"doing work" is open to interpretation. Some might consider self-upvoting "work" and other might consider content delivery via sharing "work". One could say that we are lacking a consensus mechanism to agree upon what constitutes work in this ecosystem, or perhaps we don't use it to its greatest extent.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Lol. I like this. Different. I also couldn't care less about the tired old steem will go to 10$. Nobody knows. Cheers.
Manually curated by @eonwarped.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30