The Prophets at Work at Steve Jackson Games: The Illuminati Card Game

in #satire7 years ago


I have a little bit of that wicked poke at things humor going on at the moment. In 1995 a new Illuminati Card Game by Steve Jackson games came out. There are some images that can almost seem prophetic. Or perhaps they were just a muse. People saw the cards and say "great idea!" I don't actually believe in prophecy myself. Yet I do find these coincidences amusing. I am going to share some images and possibly other media related to this as the remainder of this post.

Sort:  

It's pretty amazing the correlation between the cards and recent history. Spooky. @ironshield

it's statistically impossible to be a 'coincidence'. There are no coincidences, and especially not hundreds.

I was thinking the exact same thing...

That game looks like a lot of work to understand. I still haven't figured out how to actually play Risk.

It's actually not very difficult and it is completely about screwing over your friends. So make sure you are close friends and can put up with being messed with. :) The older versions even had some suggestions in the rules about how to CHEAT.

I've lost family over Monopoly so that probably wouldn't end well.

How in the world did you unearth this stuff? I find the breath and depth of your interests, pursuits and writings amazing.

I can't really say. When I was around 14 or 15 I declared I was at war with boredom. I really haven't been bored since then. I am almost 47 now. I don't drink alcohol or use drugs so that means I had to fight boredom without chemical assistance. So I have an interest in a lot of things. I read a lot, game a lot (boardgames and video games), am a musician and music enthusiast, I am a programmer and network engineer, am a father and grand father. I've lived in the city and in very remote areas. I've gone through EMT training. My parents were hippies. I've been persecuted by ranchers for having long hair (people like to focus on differences). I've been stereotyped many times in my life. I've spent a lot of time thinking. I've spent a lot of time challenging my own thinking. So really I can't say. I just like a lot of things. :) I also am a huge fan of history and I only get more so as I get older. I've also studied a lot of different martial arts at a very shallow level (mostly due to teacher leaving).

We weren't allowed to use the word bored or we were put to work. I consider myself extremely low maintenance. Perhaps like you, I have a bunch of interests: investing (spend about 30 hrs/wk), construction (my father was a carpenter and my younger brothers and I worked every spare minute for him and two brothers still have a construction company), reading (no fiction for me), gardening (I will have a commercial indoor strawberry farm one day), family, patents, science, business, etc. Life is too short to sit in a rocking chair and get old...

I literally have more things I want to do than I have time. That list is growing. I fully expect to die with a huge list of unfinished things. :) I'm okay with that.

I didn't let my kids say they were bored. :) They learned really quickly.

I grew to not have much respect for people saying "I'm bored" as it essentially is amounting to "entertain me!". Lazy. Though it takes a little effort to learn how to keep yourself busy. I have a mind. I can sit completely still and never truly be bored. Too many things to think about.

Oh I also used to own a ton of these cards. I sold them on ebay years ago when I needed to pay some bills.

Congratulations @dwinblood! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31