Northern California Burns

in #santarosa7 years ago

My home town is in ruins. Santa Rosa is in flames and the city is in a panic. There's plenty of coverage by local outlets as well as national ones, here's the WAPO link I could find right away --> https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/post-nation/wp/2017/10/09/fast-moving-wildfires-ravage-northern-californias-wine-country/

I don't have words, fortunately for me, my house is right downtown and not inside the evacuation zone. I was the only one who made it into the office yesterday, holding down the fort. Fortunately the owner noticed my dedication and thanked me this morning.

None of my coworkers lost their homes as far as I know, but I believe some of their loved ones may have been evacuated or had their homes burn down. I'm at a loss for words, I've never been in the middle of a disaster area before. I don't have a car or a license, I never wanted to get behind the wheel, so I can't be of much help--- fortunately the volunteer centers are full up, everyone who can get involved is helping out, so at least we're not short on help.

I'm back in the office, trying to help as much as I can.. I'm anticipating the season three premiere of Mr. Robot tomorrow, I need a distraction from all of this madness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52