TORTOISE AND THE PIG | My Entry For Sankofa Contest #11

in #sankofa6 years ago

This is the second time i am participating the Sankofa contest by @sankofa. And i am happy to announce that i was among the top three winners of the last contest. This time around, i asked my friends to tell me any folktale they remember from their childhood and i choose one. I choose this one because it is interesting and i love Tortoise tales. I hope you will enjoy it.

TORTOISE AND THE PIG

pig-1155658_1920.jpg

Once upon a time, there was a Pig named Ruuke and a Tortoise named Kansei. Tortoise was owing the pig but everyday when the pig comes to collect his money, Tortoise will say there is no money. Then one day, the pig told tortoise, "Look, you are pushing me to the wall by not paying me, when i come to your house tomorrow and you dont pay me, I will do something drastic to you".

When Tortoise got home, he called his wife..."Wife, the pig have insisted that he is coming tomorrow to collect his money by force but I don't have his money yet. For that tomorrow when pig is coming, I will turn my stomach upside down so you can put pepper on top as if it a grinding stone. In the morning when the Tortoise saw that the pig is approaching, now they decided to execute their plan fast.

The tortoise lied down facing up and the Tortoise wife packed Pepper on her husband's stomach and began to grind the pepper. When the pig came in and did not see the Tortoise but just saw the Tortoise wife. Pig now asked the wife, where is your husband Kansei? but Tortoise wife did not respond to the Pig but continued grinding the pepper softly on her husband stomach.

Pig now got angry and raised the grinding stone and threw it away. Tortoise wife now grabbed the pig and started crying, and told the pig, "please go and look for my grinding stone, the one I was using to grind my pepper". After Tortoise was thrown away, he quickly dusted himself and followed another road to his compound. When Tortoise got to his compound and saw the Pig and his wife fighting, and his wife crying asking the Pig to go and find her grinding stone, the Tortoise became very happy.

Tortoise then told the pig, Pig I will pay you your money, in fact I have it here in my pocket already, but you will have to go and look for my Wife's grinding stone, that exact one that my wife was using to grind her pepper, which you threw away, and bring it to my wife before I pay you your money. So the Pig now angrily took off to the direction and started searching for the stone not knowing the stone is Tortoise which is already present with them.

Up till now, the Pig is still searching for the stone and that is why you see the pig using his mouth to rub on the ground till today as you can see in the pics above. That is the end of my folktale and I hope you enjoyed it. The moral lesson is to never act out of anger cause it might be a ploy by the enemy to make you loose guard. To participate the contest, i advice you check out The Original Post for instructions. But you have to hurry because my entry is late and the contest is about to close. Thanks

Yours
@paramimd 😘

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54