Lies i was told as a child

in #sankofa6 years ago

Good evening steemians, its been a very hectic day for me as i came back from work today,

A friend of mine sent me a link to a very hillarious contest by @sankofa and asked me to Join the contest. You can check it out Here

I thought about it and decided to make my entry.

Please Enjoy


Personally, I wasn't really a troublesome kid at home, as i could remember how that everyone loved me and showed me great care when I was younger.

It my neighborhood, it's mostly those children that are either stubborn or troublesome that their parents and other neighbours had to device a lie to help them be in sequence.

Anyways I remembered one ludicrous technological inexactitude my mum always tells me and my siblings to ensure we eat our foods every time.

While growing up, we were among those children that you literally had to force them and cajole them with many things before they could eat.

Not necessarily because we disliked the food or that we had disdain for dishes prepared in our house or at other places,

We just had this attitude towards eating that made it look to us as if it was hard work, Imagine! 😉

(Sometimes I just wish that all those foods I rejected could be sent across to me right now, I will specially man-handle each of them).

Back to the lie,

We were told that

if we eat our foods, we would grow very tall like My Uncle.

While growing up, there was this Uncle we had who always visited us, He had a very special and unique difference from anyone I've ever known since then, and you can guess it?

He was very tall.

download.png
Image

His phenotypical trait had garnered him the name "Ogolo" from my Dad and "Iroko" from my Mum.

As at that time, I would say he was 7 feet tall, because I personally had to strain my head at all times to look at him.

Every child in our house loved him, not just because of the gifts he brings along whenever he comes around, but because we had him as our role model for tallness.

I remember I will always tell my mum

" Mummy when I grow, I will be as tall as Uncle Ogolo".

154312559.jpg
Image
And My mum would say

If you want to grow as tall as him,then you have to be eating all the foods we cook in this house, especially the beans.

I didn't like to eat at that time- by the way, am totally the opposite right now, I love foods like heaven @donnest and @desmoniac can relate😁😁😁

So it was like a good bargain, I was supposed to sacrifice my disdain for foods in order to get what I had wanted,

To grow tall.

Little did I know that I was being manipulated.

Now am over 20 years, and am not as half as My uncle Ogolo,

i think i had to allow life teach me the truth that the degree of tallness or shortness one would have or portrayed is directly dependent on his/her phenotypic and genotypic characteristics.

Although he is late now, but his legacy still stands as the tallest man in our family.

I want to use this opportunity to pay homage to my one time Tall uncle and Role Model.

Mr Ifeanyi Obiora.
Rest On Sir.

Sort:  

Your post have been Upvoted by @BacktoSchool Community

We are a Community aimed at helping Students on the Steem blockchain Pay their school fees from Steemit platform.

You can join us Using the following links.

BACKTOSCHOOL MODERATORS 20180506_165517.jpg

Backtoschool Community Group

to know more about @backtoschoolHERE

Curator on duty @sammyswt

Lolz... Chidi afọ nri 😂😂

Wish you success in the contest bro

Chidi nwoke oma ... Youree my boss when it comes to eating na, i twale

Hey @iamchijamz, Congratulations !!! We just upvoted your post with 15.82% power. Keep up the good work. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

You write so beautifully I am glad you did find time to join the contest not withstanding the work load I am proud of you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69394.55
ETH 3894.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73