Stories my grandpa told.

in #sankofa6 years ago (edited)

My grandpa had a stroke in his mid 60s.
Over the next ten years he gradually had more and more strokes, until he barely knew who any of his closest family members were.
He eventually died of a massive stroke, right before my first deployment.
However, back around 1998 I think it was, when he was mostly recovered from his first stroke, aside from chronic exhaustion and some difficulty with balance, he visited my family.
I remember the afternoon, a hot summer day in California.
We didn't get to see our grandparents that much, so it was a special treat.
I was about 15 and had a new love of writing, and a new moleskine journal.
My grandpa decided to start sharing as many of his stories as he could, while I wrote, knowing that if he had more strokes, they could be lost forever.
He was a man of very few words.
Actually, hearing him string more than 3 words together was unusual.
So, although these stories seem extremely short, understand the type of man that he was, in addition to his medical condition.
The artwork is my own.

The Faceless Woman

Image 102.jpg

My grandpa grew up in a dirt poor family in Arkansas.
When I say dirt poor, they lived in a house with dirt floors.
From what he described, it was a 3 room house: a common area and two bedrooms.
He and his 2 brothers all slept in the same bed.
His younger brother used to wake up in the middle of the night while the other two slept.
Each morning, he would tell my grandpa the same story: that in the middle of the night a woman with long hair would come into the room and watch them.
My grandpa assumed that his brother was talking about their mother, and thought nothing of it.
Eventually, his brother mentioned that this woman had no face.
When he asked his brother what he meant by no face, his brother said that the woman had no eyes, nose, or mouth: just perfectly flat skin.
Eventually his brother burned their house down.
My grandpa said that he was "playing" with a burlap sack in a fire outside and "accidentally" threw it onto the roof of the house.
Until writing this, I never considered that this might have been intentional: I just know that it made a lot more hardship for their family at the time.
I am not sure that my grandpa considered it an intentional act, either.
However, after he said that the faceless woman never visited again.

Perhaps Bigfoot

Image 103.jpg

Once my grandpa was a grown man and had finished his time in the Navy, he married my grandma and they had 3 boys of their own.
Still living in Arkansas at the time, they were much better off than my grandpa had been in his own childhood, as my grandpa was a skilled machinist.
Each summer, they would load up the station wagon and drive out to visit family in California, where they would eventually move to permanently.
Apparently, they had so much luggage loaded into that station wagon that the boys had to climb in and lay on top of it because there was no seat space left.
At that time, California was far from the urban sprawl that it is today, although even today the state is still mostly open wild country.
When you get north of San Francisco, you enter dense forests of massive redwood trees, the largest trees on earth.
This redwood forest goes pretty much all the way to Canada, and cities get fewer and farther between until you hit central Oregon.
This is Bigfoot Country.
Bigfoot is supposed to be a "wild man" descended from man's primal ancestors, that never left the trees and evolved to be something else.
That loaded up station wagon stopped on one of those long empty stretches of road with nothing but towering trees on both sides of the road as far as you could see.
My uncle needed to pee.
He was about 5 years old and at that point no one in the family had ever heard of "bigfoot."
When he got back into the car, he told the rest of the family that he had seen a bear running on its hind legs.

I hope that you enjoyed these "folk stories."
I absolutely believe them to be true, because my grandpa was an honest man who had no reason at this stage in his life to be telling lies, and the stories are supported by other family members.
I myself have seen and experienced things which defy conventional wisdom.
It's a strange world that we live in.

Do you have pencil, paper, and a thought in your head? Then you can cartoon!
Be sure to enter my weekly cartooning contest #cartoon-off. Otherwise, try to stop by and support the talented contributing cartoonists!
https://steemit.com/cartoon-off/@corpsvalues/second-weekly-cartoon-contest-cartoon-off

Untitled_Artwork (3).jpg

IMG_0556.jpg

Sort:  

The first faceless woman reminded me of some of Munch paintings i saw couple of months ago in Norway

Thanks, that is no small compliment =)
for me, the manner of brushstrokes and palette selection worked to create the feeling of fear his brother must have felt, as well as the haziness of the memory as my grandpa recalled it from 50 years before.

The facial expressions are as minimal as they are yet very dramatic

Love the stories, love the art. I’ll be on repeat if you keep heading down this path.

Honestly, there’s never a piece that you share with us that isn’t interesting to me in some way. I enjoy the way your mind builds images, so keep the artistry flowing. I continue to be ever so proud to have such a talented steemy twin too. Now, if you’d just be a good bro and love on the bees, life would be unicorns, roses and sunny days lined with rainbow roads.

As for my favourite story, it would be the Faceless Woman. Whether true or not, many of us at some stage would have imaged this horror. In fact, my best friend in high school did this to me. One night she said to me, “You’re looking very pale...omg, I just imagined you to be like a Chinese ghost woman with no face!”

FC34B6E9-30C1-4D82-BF07-E70F390E7A4E.png

She made me scared of me! Imagine that...scary me. Okay, not so hard to imagine. Hehe

Anyway, the only ghostly apparition I’ve seen as a child is the face of an old lady on a wardrobe door. I woke up one night and she was smiling kindly at me. I wasn’t scared, not like I was of the alien...

The things our more open childlike mind sees is fascinating. I do believe they are real, remnants of energy that children sense and mold to their imagination. Years later, my mother told me she never felt right in the old unit.

Finally the art, the first draws you into the scene, but your Big Foot is adorable in a zombie teddy bear way. Lol

Great Post!

Linny ❤️

Congrats on the win with this Sankofa entry, @corpsvalues. May you attract many fans to your amazing work! You deserve it. 😛

my grandma used to tell me stories when i was very young and a lot of them were really weird and scary .... it is definitely a strange world we live in!

love the illustrations, too, @corpsvalues !

Thanks spider! Most of my grandparent's stories weren't scary: it was just these two that my grandpa decided were important enough that they needed to be remembered. Now I am doing my part putting them on the blockchain foreverrrrrrr

Did your grandfather assign any significance to them or say why he thought they were important?

I think that as he got towards the end of his life he had time to reflect on his life, and these memories were the ones his mind kept gravitating back to.
As a mechanic, he had a very precise, mathematical mind. He actually built some of the rocket parts for NASA.
I think that these memories, that he believed but had no logical explanation for, ended up getting revisited and he couldn't let them go easily.
As someone who has seen "ghosts" I know the feeling.
Eventually you have to share the experience with someone else in the hope that they will help you understand or else be a witness to an event that might have been important if it was as unusual as your mind had you believe.
I actually did some research and found out about a Japanese monster that goes way back in their folklore who is a "trickster demon" who appears to people in the same manner: as a person with no face.
How a young boy in rural Arkansas would encounter this same phenomenon that is a household "ghost story" in Japan is beyond me.
My grandpa had never heard of the Japanese ghost stories before but I am glad that at the time I had read of them, and was able to tell him of it and help him place his story into a folk legend of wider significance.

It is interesting he would have the same images in his memory.

I agree that sharing and being able to talk about it without fear of ridicule is a very helpful path to understand. It's good you had a chance to do that with your Grandfather.

It is a nice thing to have written down about your grandfather. Something to share with other family members.

Whoah the first story, yikes!

Your drawings are superb👍👍👍👍

I hope bigfoot isnt real as we go camping sometimes, i worry enough of bears, wolves and moose 😐

Thanks for the compliment!
I don't know where you are going camping but it's worth talking to the local park rangers and keeping your food hoisted up into a tree =)
Otherwise enjoy sharing some campfire ghost stories and that little shiver that runs up your back!

Thank you @corpsvalues for this original Sankofa entry. I hope you share some more with us. Your Grandad seems to be a simple and awesome fellow. Peace be unto him.

Thanks for sharing.

Dante is Here No fear

Cheers

Thank you, and thanks for the inspiration to share my grandpa's stories.

Thank you, and thanks for
The inspiration to share
My grandpa's stories.

                 - corpsvalues


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I inspired you. Wow! I had no idea.

Thanks 😁

Uh hang on are you the one who runs the sankofa competition? Sorry might have got confused. I might have just seen you resteeming entrees.

No confusion fam. You're right and also Misterakpan as well. I have written somr in thr past so probably you've seen them or maybe the resteem.

You can havr a fun time reading this The Legend of Dr. MAMA

p.s I can participate but organisers can be winners

I organize a weekly #cartoon-off contest so I know how it goes =)
It's a lot of work but nowhere near how much it must be to organize and judge your contest.

#cartoon-off sounds interesting. Thank you

Amigo ¡Que buen post! Me gustó de principio a fin y es muy distraído que incluyas dibujos en la historia, la cual por cierto, está muy bien narrada y hace que te imagines cada plano. Espero leer más de ti!

Me voy a unir al concurso!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by linnyplant from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78