Lies My Grandma Told Me : A @sankofa Contest

in #sankofa6 years ago

IMG_20180511_150236_815.jpg
source

OK, here we go, when I first saw the theme of this @sankofa contest I laughed hysterically because I see myself in the best position to write this , for your info I spent all my childhood days with my grandma and it was full of fun, I've heard superstitions, taboos, abominations and sacrilegious things but I'll only tell you the funny one today as requested by @sankofa.
Before you can say something is a lie you must have been opened to the truth, it took me several year to find this out. So sit back and read the lies my grandma told me.

1. Using a broom to beat a child will reduce his penis or even make his dick not to stand again. 😁 😁 😁

Yeah, yeah, it is believed that when you use a broom to beat a child it's going to render that child infertile for the rest of his life.

Truth : I actually have a neighbour who beats his son with broom and people looked at the poor boy as a guy who won't father a child, guess what? This guy was the first to impregnate a girl among us all. And research shows that this is a big correcting tool in the hands of India mothers, guess what there population ranks one of the highest in the world.

2. When it's raining and the sun is coming out it is believed that a lion is giving is birth.

Yes, believe me at your own peril, when a lion gives birth the rain and the sun comes to rejoice and they all come from the sky to welcome the new born cub, I don't think I need to tell you if that's a lie or truth, do I ?

Truth ; this act of sun and rain coming out always occurs at the peak period of July and August and it's caused by the earth's solar system not the lion.

3. Drawing a line on the floor and if a fly set on it it's going to make your mom's breast to sag, 😔 😱 😱

Truth : This is a pure lie, this lies was told to us because as kids then we use to draw lines for so many games and we'll probably leave it there till the next day, I think the elderly one's are not okay with it so they made a superstitions out of it.

4. If You sit down on a mortar that is use to pound yam and things like that you won't grow tall.

As if you continue to sit down on it, just forget your height because you'll be use as a dwarf in movies, so good luck, I don't know how to tell you that's a lie too,

Truth : this is among those superstitious lies meant to uphold cleanliness at home, I mean how can you be sitting on something meant to cook food for everyone, what if you even messed on it.

4. When you loose your baby teeth, add seven small stones to it, throw it over the roof for the Tooth Fairy or else the teeth won't grow back.

Truth : this even has birth so many movie in Hollywood, there is one made by dwaney Johnson on the Tooth Fairy, guess what? They are all pigment of imagination meant to inspire in us the power of imaginations and give us the impression that someone is watching over us.

5. Using your hand to collect rain from the roofing sheet directly will invite thunder to strike you down.

That's a big lie though only some salient truth lies there.

Truth : when it's raining and thunder strikes it will surely look for a conducting material or particle to pass through, and if you're on the way you might get hit by it, but to scare us all our parent decide to make it a worldwide taboo rubbing us all of this childhood fun,
IMG_20180511_150846_944.jpg
source
I did it anyway and am still alive to type all this. 😁 😁 😁

6. When you hit your left foot on a stone when going out it means bad omen.

That's a pure big lie, the future actually belongs to those who can make the best use of every circumstances that comes there way, if you refuse to post when the steem dollars is low because you see it as a bad omen, you won't get any payouts when the steem dollars increases, it is pure garbage in garbage out.

Truth : there is no known truth in this one, it's pure lie, you have the power to remake every bad day.

7. When the middle of your palm is scratching or itching you then it means someone is coming to bless you with some money.

IMG_20180511_151332_283.jpg
source

If you refuse to work hard and your hand is scratching you please don't fool yourself at this believe because it is suffering that is coming your way.

8. When you spit on the floor and someone stepped on it you'll be experiencing pain in your throat.

Well, that's not true, this is surely a way to cub just spiting anywhere. Though as I grow up I found out that there are some advance scientific research made into this one in particular and it's close to the truth, but no, there's no truth in it.

Now to the debunking part.

As times goes on I start to see the reason many of this lies were told to us then at a much scary level and with deep warning, it was to instill fear that leads to correction and good way of life, I learnt in my secondary school when studying my culture and race in school that many of these taboos were meant for cleanliness, correction, good way of life. I also leant that in past times so many diseases broke out due to uncleanness in food and water and some superstitions has to be developed for the children to make them comply to stay clean in every way of life.

I must also reiterate that atimes superstitions became close to be real, sometimes when you hear a particular thing if you aren't careful of it you might start to believe in it and the words will start happening to you, so you just have to be careful to know what to believe.

my grandma who told me all this is still alive at the age of 109.

DQmYhVrwCd6tqFbryAJSPnJyFBjYGyMPdDztWzm9YHEDyZB.png
This is my entry into @sankofa contest on Lies my grandma told me.

U5dtFoQqBqVSxSSP5jHzaKsccb6qyx8.gif

Sort:  

Lol. I like these kinds of myths, take me back to life when the Internet is not popular at all.

Your grandma is awesome. Grandma is the best!

Lol
All these superstitious beliefs 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55