How Mankind Became Corrupt : A Sankofa Folktale Contest

in #sankofa6 years ago
Dragging my bag to go back home, home is where the heart is, I greeted grandpa whom I've been staying with since I was born, dad and mum aren't getting well together so they opt for a divorce, crashing my life alongside there's. Grandpa always tells me to remember the son of who I am, but who am I anyway?. A boy who hasn't seen his father for Seven years!, cut me some slacks.

I started picking some bad habit from school bit by bit, started from lying to stealing, though I wasn't hungry neither lacked anything, since no one was able to mentor or watch over me, I became loose. I thought grandpa was ignorant of this, but he knew, just waiting for the right time to crack the coconut with his bare hands.

Grandpa called me to his side one fateful night, he asked me if I was in school throughout today, which I replied "yes". Truth is. He came to school to check on me of which I have already jumped over the school fence to see my friends.
He didn't argue with me, he's too full of wisdom to do that, instead, he sat me down.

"I want to tell you a story" he said, adjusting his all seeing eyes glasses."

A story of how the world became like this, maybe if you have the understanding of the world's problem, who knows, you might rethink your ways" grandpa's two eyes met mine with acute seriousness. I couldn't take my eyes off, in the next few minutes my friends will come with there whistle signal, the plan is to go and block a girl by the river side.

poseidon-1621062__480.jpg
Source

The story am about to tell you, son, started in the beginning of time itself, then, men lives among spirits and beast, there was peaceful coexistence and it please the gods himself to live too among men, But the heavenly council wouldn't let him, they counsel him if he must go, He should send his son Òtító (Truth) to live among mankind first, if they are able to live with him, then the father himself will come. The agreement was made and Òtító (truth) was on his way to earth 🌍.

fantasy-2861107__480.jpg
Source

While coming he met Ïró(lies) on the way.
Bowing down to reference Òtító , he asked him, where are you going to?.
Òtító always says the truth.

"Am going to earth to live with them till my father is satisfied that he can also live among them" truth said.

"Waoh!, seriously?, can I join you on this journey?, please " Ïró begged him.

"Ok," truth replied.

On getting to earth, Òtító picked the trade of a merchant, selling all sort of kitchen wares and general home item, so also is Ïró, he deals with clothes and jewelries, one thing is so amiss with Ïró's wares, they are fake, expensive and over billed, the most bizarre part is that Ïró's abode is always jampacked with buyers buying his wares.

One fateful day, Òtító met Ïró on the way and they decide to exchange pleasantries.

"how are you Òtító".

"Am doing fine".

"And how is business ?."

"Awh," breathing a sigh, "moving very slow but we thank the gods so far".

"Òtító, you are not looking fine with that reply"
"I hardly make a sale per day enough to feed myself".

"Òtító, maybe you should come to my house in the night, let me show you one or two things to spice up your business".

"OK, thanks, I really appreciate".

They depart, before the sun went down totally Òtító was already in Ïró's house.

They greeted themselves, and he bid him to come into his secret chamber.

Before Òtító's eyes he could see where Ïró was manufacturing fake product and mixing all sort of things together to make a substandard of what he sells. Òtító was shocked to the bones.
He faced Ïró with a strong disgusting face in a bid to hit him.

"Do you know am the son of the gods, I can't be found doing things like this".

"Calm down, you don't need to tell them this is how you make it, just say it's the standard and they'll all buy".

"But that's not true".

"No one cares! ".

Òtító couldn't believe his eyes as he rushed out in sadness.

Ïró rushed to meet him, looking into his eyes seriously once again with a stern warning, don't go and tell everyone what you've just seen. Or else.

"Or else what? "

Ïró calmed himself down, told Òtító to his face, I agree that you don't tell lies, fine. But let's have a deal, you'll summon all the heavenly powers you have and I'll peddles my own lies round the cities, then we meet on market day which is seven days from now, who ever sell the most gets to stay on earth.

hand-819279__480.jpg
Source

Òtító believed so much in this and agreed. He trust so much in his godlike power.
The market days came, Ïró settled his wares right across Òtító wares, ringing the bell to draw people's attention, the women in the market all thronged to Ïró's stall and within minutes, finished his wares. Òtító hasn't sold a single spoon, dejected and ashamed he looked up into the sky with deary eyes.

Òtító d'ójà ó kùtà
Truth has no market value
Ïró ni omo aráyé nfé
Lies is all what mankind wants to hear.

The gods in the heavens heard this and send Òtító to come up. But before he left he told each and everyone who cares to listen , if they want to see him, they should keep telling the truth.

Lies after selling all his wares moved his plans forward to dominate man, he married a cunny woman and they both have a child called Ole(Thief) followed by jegúdú-jerá(corruption).
He left the vilage and made plans to populate his kind all over the earth, marrying many woman and spreading his evil offspring through the earth.

That was how the whole world became corrupt till date and no one to say the truth.
By the time grandpa finished the story, I've been touched beyond imaginations, I promised grandpa there and then, never to join them in populating lies. I'll from now be an advocate of truth.

...

Above is my entry into @sankofa contest.

Sankofa Folktale Contest

Sort:  

Congratulations @botefarm: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

That was too beautiful. Always puzzling to see the sage of our ancestors in full display. How they related everyday events in these epic contorted narratives and made them larger than live. Glad you shared this. Your entry is accepted and your post re-steemed on our blog. Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74