An Open Letter to Barrio Logan

in #sandiego7 years ago (edited)

Several years ago, while visiting San Diego I happen to stumble across the Barrio Logan neighborhood. I had been in San Diego for two days and someone had mentioned to me that this unique and very strong cultured Chicano community was a must stop on any tourist agenda so I stayed and walked around this small community full of art, life and culture.
Being Chicano myself, and having spent many years in El Chuco (El Paso), San Antonio and in several other west Texas communities, I thought it would be a nice trip to take. I could stand to learn a little something about my culture. We heard about Las Cuatro Milpas and it was everything people had hyped it up to be. There was a wait as expected but once we made our way in it took me back to the old days. Good food surrounded by some of the liveliest people just all getting along and having a good time. It was then that I started to realize something was very different about this community. They all seemed to be more than just neighbors, tourists or locals. They were family once you entered in this establishment. Everyone was treated like family and it was something I hadn’t seen before. When we left we took in the beautiful sites of Chicano park and all the murals. Just taking our time looking at each and every one. They all told a story and that’s what made it more emotional. You hear the story but now you have a picture, a representation of the action. The murals displayed all challenges Chicanos faced and still face such as police and gang brutality, the drugs, the pain and heartache but also the love and happiness and the overcoming of oppression was displayed. We walked around a few blocks and stopped in a small art gallery and as soon as we walked it we were greeted with open arms, a glass of wine and were pulled into a conversation and were asked to give our opinions on several subjects. It was interesting and different but it was also the most surreal experience ever. Our tour guide in the art gallery was pointing to guests and telling us who they were in the community and so forth and he would always make it a point to introduce these friends of his while telling us stories about their involvement in the community. I couldn’t believe this was happening. People from the same neighborhood were giving us advice on where to go within the same area. These people didn’t view each other as completion. They viewed each other as brother and sisters and stuck together to make this community as a whole succeed. And this is why I decided to write this piece, because that’s when I realized what kind of love people in this community have for each other. I live in Texas, and where I’m from If I’m at a bar and I mention I’m heading out to go visit a bar down the block its the usual "why would you go there" attitude or something negative. There is so much hate and bad energy that where I’m from many people bring others down. The love Barrio Logan residents have for one another is amazing. It truly is. When we arrived in the evening to another art show off in some industrial looking alley off Main St. we told the owner where we heard about it from and he immediately had nothing but great words and praise for that individual and everyone else. That’s the kind of respect I enjoy seeing amongst people. We should be busy building and supporting one another rather than tearing each other down, as they seem to do back home. I could go on and on about the hospitality that was shown and the love that was given but I really wanted to write this as a letter to the residents of Barrio Logan.

I hope this letter finds the residents of Barrio Logan in good spirits. You changed my outlook on how I view those around me with visions and goals. Much respect to all. Peace.

Sort:  

Congratulations @aloha210! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aloha210! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47