I tested for you Salsa in Sydney

in #salsa7 years ago

salsa sydney.jpg

Take a globe, put a finger on France (be careful, do not tickle it too much, sometimes it is likely ...) and try to put a finger on the other side of the globe and you'll be on the other side of the planet, head upside down, in Australia, among the Aussies ... Sydney is not the capital of this country-continent, everyone knows it's Canberra, but it's the biggest city, the most famous, the most beautiful, a bit like Istanbul for Turkey (ask @elmetro the capital of this country, it will show you its great culture ...). On the other side of the planet, visit this beautiful city of Sydney, upside down from you, it allows you to be in awe with a breathtaking panorama. A beautiful arched metal bridge adorns Sydney's Grand Bay, while huge skyscrapers at the Circular Quay illuminate like Christmas trees every night as sunsets.

salsa sydney 2.jpg

Harbour Bridge

salsa sydney 3.jpg

The skyscrapers of Sydney Bay

But let's come to our main concern, our drug, salsa. How to get this drug in Sydney? Easy, it is on sale, the site "Sydney Salsa Scene" lists places where it is possible to dance every night. The site is old ergonomics but it is updated again, the three places where I went to dance salsa were listed. I went to a bar on a Monday, the Bar100 in the Rocks area, just steps from the bay, but it was the last night at this place so Bye Bye. I went to the Establishment bar in the skyscraper area on Sunday night, which spends one third of kizomba, one third of bachata and one third of salsa. Finally, my favorite place was the bar "The Argyle" on Wednesday after 21h with a program more connected to salsa, I went back a second time the following Wednesday. The last two places were free and in all these bars, a jug of water and glasses are available, thank you to them ... Particularity of all these places, we are in a mega-city, they are gigantic bars, let's say five minimum time the Spyl so that the people of Strasbourg have an order of magnitude ... "The Argyle", with beautiful exposed beams and wooden floor, was the largest and most beautiful of these bars, the space for salsa was only a third of the second floor. Evenings were often preceded by classes.

salsa sydney 4.png

A salsa class at Bar100, upside down

First essential question that you ask yourself : what effect does it make to dance upside down ?
Do a few moments the pear tree in your living room, you will understand. The blood will leave your legs, so you'll be lighter ... It's perfect for dancing and salsa, you're on the dancefloor in Sydney, so you can dance longer. It's perfect for dancing and salsa, each of your passes is punctuated by a great Bang Bang. Finally, the blood slowly rises to the brain and innervates it ... It's perfect for dancing salsa, your brain works at 1000 per hour, and you struggle to find the most beautiful passes with the tempo of music. Well, stop doing the pear now, it's only allowed in the southern hemisphere ...

Traditional question, what about Puerto Rican and Cuban salsa? The music is varied, it goes sometimes in one style or the other. On the other hand, at the dance level, it's mainly Puerto Rican dancers except ... I'm going to invite a girl who says to me: Sorry, I only dance the Cuban style: "cuban style" (pronounce "kiubâne stïïïle I say OK, super, finally one, I start after a few measures a Vacilala on the 1, basic lap of the Cuban but ... it does not pass ... I try again. Nothing to do, I went to a style Cuban "light" adapting the figures ...

Another time, I'm going to invite a girl, at the end of the dance, I ask her name, she told me Ken (I almost said: Surprise, I 'm call her "Barbie" ...), I ask her where she comes from since she is obviously of foreign origin, she tells me that she is Korean She asks me in return if I am ... "Cuban" ??? asks surprised Why ? She tells me that it's because I dance with a "stiiiile kioubane." I laugh, I deceive her, I tell her that I come from the homeland of great lovers, Yes, France ;-) For the trouble, I make it dance again but it's the same as the first time, I'm obliged to settle for the Cuban "light" style that has the advantage of not getting fat. ;-)

salsa sydney 5.jpg

You'll understand, I loved dancing salsa in Sydney. The advantage of dancing at "The Argyle" is that you can go with a small walk of a minute to contemplate in the bay a real architectural marvel, the Sydney Opera House, whose beautiful round curves evoke in especially at night, illuminated by the light, sometimes the clouds of the sky, sometimes the inflated sails of a boat, or what do I know still, according to your dreams ...

El Astico

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77