How I Got My First Client To Say Yes - Your First Sale - by The Vegan Entrepreneur

in #sales7 years ago

When I went into business I knew I had to step out of my comfort zone. I've always been a super confident guy. I've had a very successful life so far and I'm not afraid of much.
But when it comes to asking people for money, it's not really in my comfort zone.

How much are you worth? How much is your value in this deal? This is a pretty big question and walking into a store to try and get your first client, is, I have to admit, a little bit scary.

A FB Friend of mine asked me for some tips on how to get and close customers in real life. I will write a few blog posts with my tips and advice on how I got my first customers.

You can follow my journey for clients in the beginning in my vlogging channel. I even give some tips, thoughts, and insights you might like.

So how did I do it? What did I Say? And would I do it the same now or did I find a better way?

First, you have to understand that the person you are talking too is in no way as passionate about what you are doing then you are.
When I walk in, I introduce myself to show I'm not here as a customer. I ask for the owner because mostly the owner is in the store and has ultimate authority, which makes it a lot easier.
I try to get a quick impression based on how he responds to me.

Is he trying to look like a boss? Is he super busy? Is he happy to see me? Does he think I want to sell him something before I even spoke?

The more I see, the more I learn.

Based my first impression, I start my conversation.
In most cases, I will ask him if he's spending any money on advertising and promotion?
Most store owners say yes. This is the first of 3 (read Dale Carnegie "How To Win Friends and Influence People" if you want to know more).
If they say no, I simply ask them: why not, and continue to a conversation from there.

Again, you check his response. If he says yes with a happy voice, he's more open than if he gives you the short, angry yes.

Observation is control, and when you are in control, it's easier to get the results that you want.

The next thing I want to know is: Where does he spend his money?
If he's doing everything right, there is no way I should offer my services to him. But if I honestly believe that I can get him a bigger ROI% on his investments, I will show him how.

Now, don't go after him with your expertise. You are in the store, he already dedicated 5 minutes of his time to you. In his eyes, you already are an expert.

Explain to him why traditional methods of advertising are no longer as profitable. How his customer's attention is spending all their time online. And how, because of the amount of data, you can now target (and re-target) your customers better than ever before. You can build relationships rather than just customers.

If he says that his customers are not that much into social media's, ask him for how long he plans to stay in business. If he's going to be in business for some time than telling him that the people who are not his customers today, will be his customers in 4-5 years from now. And they don't know anything different than buying on the internet.
Show him why this is the biggest opportunity to start creating a brand out of his store and create the perfect foundation for the future.

In the end, sales are all about how you package it and your ability to relate to the owner.

Can you make him understand and get him excited about the potential idea of building up his store and increasing his sales through your service?

Are you selling him on the idea or do you truly believe you can make a difference.?

Are you selling or are you helping?

If he believes you can help him.
You've closed the deal.

cha-ching2.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45