Chapel on a Rock

in #saintmalo7 years ago

This is a picture I took while on vacation last year, when we were in Colorado.
I wanted to share the beauty of the site, so I put it on Pixabay and now here. I always
liked photography and may make it my retirement hobby.

st-malo-church-902543_1280.jpg

Link to the picture on Pixaby: https://pixabay.com/en/st-malo-church-chapel-rock-902543/

Some background, in 1916, a Monsignor Joseph Bosetti saw this large rock formation which is east of Rocky Mountain National Park in Colorado. It made him think of the Biblical phrase ...(Upon this rock I will build my church). It became a dream of his to build a church perched on that rock. It took nearly 20 years before his dream became a reality. You will find it just north of Allenspark on Route 7. There is a retreat and conference center nearby unfortunately it was closed for renovations when my wife and I stopped to visit, but they are scheduled to open in September 2017.

Sort:  

Beautiful stone architecture. I think we often forget why the various peoples came to these colonies in the first place. Most of them came to find a place they could worship freely without persecution or negativity of various forms.

Appreciate the comment. To be there and see it was amazing. It was a perfect day for the picture.

Your welcome!

Following you!

Congratulations @nick4033! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!