You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Facts and Figures Living on a boat.

in #sailing6 years ago

We have used a laundrette once.

77 days and using a washing machine only once during those 77 days? Or do you have one installed on board? It's certainly possible to wash clothes by hand, but of all the modern household electric equipment I believe the washing machine is perhaps the most important ... only second to the fridge. Doing a proper laundry by hand is ... a lot of work!

Sort:  

We inherited a little portable washing machine thing ... but it only does a few things at a time and uses a lot of water. I am used to doing our 'smalls' by hand because I found the marina machines soon wrecked my nice lacy underwear. Out in the Med of course we are wearing less and less clothes as the days get hotter. I don't mind a weekly wash. I also wash pillow cases etc in my hair washing water, I will make every excuse possible not to use a laundrette. Here in Greece our clothes and sheets dry in no time.

I haven't yet tried the real sailors wash method of dragging your clothes behind you in a net bag as you sail along. I am looking forward to trying that .... but only heavy duty jeans etc of course!

I haven't yet tried the real sailors wash method of dragging your clothes behind you in a net bag as you sail along. I am looking forward to trying that .... but only heavy duty jeans etc of course!

Oh. I also haven't tried that. Think I've heard of that. I can't imagine the clothes will feel quite fresh after such a salt-water rinse followed by drying.

no .... more like cardboard, I expect. I will try it with the dog towels first I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58560.83
ETH 2491.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40