Crew needed: Gothenburg - Oslo, upcoming weekend

in #sailing6 years ago (edited)

This picture was taken before the summer vacation, but I've left the boat in roughly the same spot, a bit outside Gothenburg. Actually, I found it very hard to find anchoring places outside Gothenburg. There are official anchoring places ... but those are for the bigger commercial ships, it doesn't feel quite right to leave my little sailing boat just there. Then there are lots of places where it (according to my seamap) is forbidden to anchor, and quite some places that are quite exposed to the waves. But I digress.

The trip from Gothenburg to Oslo is very beautiful, and it's mostly in sheltered waters - there are some few short distances without shelter, but the very most of the trip will be going between islands or in channels, not so much waves.

I have quite some challenges this weekend - I'm alone with the kids and I also have to do some work - so I really need helping hands. We need to do quite some night sailing, and I also need to sleep. So I may need help with staying awake at the rudder as well as feeding the kids.

My daugther is 4 years old, my son is 7 years old, I also have a 14 years old, but it's uncertain if he will join.

It may be that we will do stops on the way, and it seems unlikely that we will make it to Oslo during only the weekend. I have days off from work Friday, Monday and Tuesday, but the children needs to go to school on those days. The straight-line-distance all the way is 142 nm. There are quite some options though ... from Strömstad there are free or almost-free ferries going to Sandefjord, from Skjærhalden (88 nm straight line distance) there are buses to Oslo, trains from Halden and Fredrikstad, Moss (115 nm straight line) is only one hour train journey from Oslo. If we arrive in Moss late Sunday or night before Monday, I will for sure take the kids directly to school by train Monday morning.

I will provide bed clothes and food, and I may also cover travel expenses if that's what it takes to recruit some crew :-)

The boat is relatively comfortable, it has heating, shower, toilets, cockpit tent (so one can stay dry while navigating), and basically everything one needs ... except, the fridge is broken. It doesn't have many cabins though, you will most likely have to sleep on a sofa in the saloon. If you happen to be two persons I may provide a double bed.

attn @norwegianviking :-)

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tobixen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=crew-needed-gothenburg-oslo-upcoming-weekend


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Good luck in finding some crew.

Good luck with finding some crew @tobixen.

it's the sort of thing my partner would love to do if we were closer and he was retired! 😁

If I wasnt on holiday mate I would have joined😊safe travels mate. I will probably delivery crew on a boat going from Rome to Gothenburg in beginning of September. Vil du ha båten i opplag i Oslo for vinteren?

Vil du ha båten i opplag i Oslo for vinteren?

no, I use it all year around

Er tilbake i Praha fredag morgen, hmm...når seiler du isåfall? Hvor mange dager seiling er det snakk om?

Tenker å begynne å bevege på meg fredags kveld. Ankommer eller passerer Skjærhalden senest søndag kveld. Fortsetter antageligvis seilturen mot Oslo mandag og tirsdag.

Søren, det blir litt for thight skjema - men ok, jeg holder meg oppdatert 😊ha en fin tur

Hi! To bad I am not there anymore. I really would love to sail in the baltic sea and get some sailing practice. Have you already set sail?

Best wishes,
atlanticmatt

No, I will go back to the boat tomorrow evening, and start sailing in the late evening if I get someone with me. If I'm not getting anyone with me I'll just stay in Gothenburg over the weekend.

Hi @tobixen! We are @steem-ua, a new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! Your post is eligible for our upvote! Thanks for your contribution, keep up the good work, and feel free to join our Discord server!

You have a nice boat. I follow you for the next trips... Have a nice day.

You have a nice boat.
I follow you for the next
Trips... Have a nice day.

                 - chorock


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Wao sir wonderful trip,,,,boat looks so awesome, ,,,River looks so beautiful,,,Great attraction of this water,,,,,Good luck in finding some crew,,,,you are really enjoying with yours childs,,,,you bear your childs expansives beacause you are a father sir,,,,,great time spend with your childs,,,,thanks for sharing tour great trip sir,,,,I really like your post,,,

I've resteemed this. Good luck =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65