More sailing YouTubers caught in the path of hurricane IrmasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #sailing7 years ago (edited)

Post 1

Post 2

This the third part in my series on how hurricane Irma is effecting YouTube sailors. No one is upvoting but I don't care. I'm fascinated by this story. The average person wouldn't post the destruction of their home and all their belongs. This should be an interesting look into the recovery from within.

Read through the first two posts. They are short. You don't necessarily need to watch the videos. I cover the basic facts in the posts. 


1. Sailing Mischief

Location: St Martin

So, Sailing Mischief's boat is gone. They started a gofundme with a goal of $50k. The comments are hilarious. The entire sailing community is shitting on them for having their boat there in the first place. Paul Francis covers the general sentiment with, "So you had enough warning to move out of the hurricane path and you chose not to do so. Now you want us to buy you a new boat?"

I'm a fan of this couple but at the same time, the sailing community is right. I'm enjoying the shitshow either way.


2. MJ Sailing

Location: Indiantown, FL

This poor couple has spent 2 and half years remodeling every inch of this boat. It's finally finished and they get one test sail before Irma hits. Ouch. They have moved their boat upriver well away from the coast. Who knows if it is enough.


3. Sailing Satori

Location: Fort Meyers, FL

I don't know much about this couple but based on current hurricane models, they are fucked. 

EXTRA SUPER DUPER MEGA FUCKED to be exact. I'll be shocked if their boat survives.

Sort:  

Well well, all those you survived are the luckiest ones. I once experienced the same incident but thanks to the team of International Sailing Academy who taught me som laser sailing tips. They proved to be a life saver. International Sailing Academy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64