Adventures in Boating Beginingl

in #sailing8 years ago (edited)


Today we needed to make more preparing and the winds were a little stronger than expected. But everything is pretty much shipshape. I will be joiningas my new Swedish friend Vincent on his 7.5 meter sailing boat "Slice of Life" from Catalonia France, down the coast of Spain through the straights of Gibraltar and out into the Atlantic on our way to the Canary Islands, my home away from home.

I had been living on the Canary Islands from end of 2012 untill May this year w hen I returned to Central Europe for Love & other reasons. Now as winter approaches and it is getting quite cold and occasional snow, I need to return to the sun, beaches and tropical fruits of the Islas Afortunados.

The Albin Vega "Slice of Life" that we will be taking out is 50 years old now, and has just completed the entire length of France by Canals. Before that Captain Vincent came across the North Sea into Britania,and has plans to cross the Atlantic after some time in the Canaries. I will be coming on as fesh crew, learning by doing as I gain new experience in my boating life which started slowly in the Canaries 3 years ago. I'm using this time to focus my self discipline and eagerness to learn. I will unplug myself from the internet, mail, family and friends, and only want to make some occasional pictures. I'm also stopping any alcohol drinking (only really a social drinker) and smoking weed (like a chimney) for the duration of this trip untill I land "home" in the Canaries.

Should be arriving at our relaxed pace around middle of December. We are starting slow down into the direction of Barcelona. Time is not a goal, but warm waters are. There is a option to make a stop in North Africa or Morrocco (anyone have any firsthand experience?) Before or after the staights of Gibraltar.

Fair Winds For All

Sort:  

looks like fun!

Sounds great!:)
Can't wait to see your smiley face on this island again, dude.

Looking forward to more story's! upvoted and followed!

Updated rough itinerary and some detail edit. @zaebars Yes dudes it will be so great to see all of you. I think we will be making some time in Lanzarote or GC at first though.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.11 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.