Working towards freedom

in #sailing7 years ago

It took a stroke at 38 to wake me the hell up and address my life and where I was heading. For all my life from 15 years of age, I had the idea that the only thing in life was to work, pay taxes, buy a home, and have a child. This indoctrination started at school, it did not matter if it was private school or public school. School did nothing for me and I learned very quickly nothing in life is free you pay one way or another. 

I was fortunate because I learned quickly not to take handouts from anyone but to work for it and earn it. I still fell into the trap of comfort and excess, when I brought my first home I become proud and just about got caught in the mortgage trap and equity.  I had to have the nice home, the big pool, the sports car, a private gym and all the trappings of life but really I was never so cash poor. I had the illusion of wealth I even mixed with wealthy people and networked to get a foot in the door to life myself higher in status, this again was a mistake and put more pressure on me to make more work longer hours and what I though working towards freedom. 

These days I now believe there is no freedom we are being manipulated by the governments and banking institutions to only do their buddings making them richer in the process so they can make more welfare recipients to keep them in power. So it stroked me out I was paralyzed in hospital for 2 weeks could hardly move my right side and my left side nothing just dead of any movement. I was lucky it did not kill me and I was able to rehabilitate myself through indoor climbing to get my dexterity back as well as full movement.   

This took more from me then just my ability to function correctly it also changed my brain where I did from time to time flip out at nothing or very little. I lost my family, my house my drive for any financial gain from working, but in a way I found much much more. I believe that there is always tomorrow and no matter what I am alive, things can always be worse. I made a plan I needed to free my life of the shit become debt free and buy myself a new home, at no point was I interested in an actual house but just needed a home. I owned a sail boat when I was 20 a simple 25 foot inshore racer cruiser moored in Pitwater, NSW, Australia, this was the answer I thought it took 5 years to find a yacht suitable for me to live in, a 13 meter or 42 feet pilot house steel sail boat, a world cruiser that will give me a little more freedom then I currently have and a home also that was 100% mine. 

I had to learn so much about living on the water for the first time and what to do so I befriended a old trawler owner who also lived on his boat. At this point I researched maintenance how useful YouTube can be for a lot of these areas. Much like a house you must do regular maintenance, ok ok its not like cutting the grass cleaning the pool or even trimming trees, but fixing or replacing pumps, painting decks, polishing the stainless steal, and buying things to work towards my freedom, saving as much money as I can so I do not have to work anymore. I am 80% the way there but its not easy I still need a few more things because I like my creature comforts, I need a water maker, a 4 or 6Kva generator, a 12v welder, a 15hp out board motor, sew up my lazy jacks where the sails sit, service all winches and antifoul. I know it does not seem much but its kind of expensive and I also still live a normal life traveling over seas working a job and saving money. Doing everything yourself is very hard at times I keep my home as clean as I can I never understand why people have such messy boats, there is a place for everything. 

Freedom is hard to achieve and comes at a cost and I know there is no real thing as freedom but I want to get as close to it as I can. I am just about there and I know I will achieve all because it all I think about these days.         

Sort:  

Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one! It's on a totally different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Superb choice of colors!There's certainly a great deal to find out about this issue. I really like all of the points you have made.

Congratulations @gonedivin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61